Sydney Thunder – Unstoppable on the Field

The Big Bash League can be seen as Australia’s answer to Indian Premier League. The Twenty-20 domestic cricket tournament was the brainchild of Cricket Australia and had its first outing in 2011. It is headlined by eight city-based T-20 cricket teams and has had eight exciting seasons so far. It takes place between December to February and has had five out of the eight teams emerge as the title champions. KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) has been the title sponsor since season one. Big Bash League follows a round-robin or turnaround match format; Australians are encouraged to be part of the ‘community’ of their favourite team and support it by coming to as many matches as they can.

The Sydney Thunder, although an initially struggling team, won the tournament title in season five. The ANZ Stadium was the Sydney Thunders’ home ground from 2011 to 2014 while the Spotless Stadium has been their homestead since 2015. Currently, Shane Bond is the Sydney Thunders coach and Callum Ferguson is their captain.

Sydney Sixers Homeground : Sydney Showground Stadium

Sydney Thunder Team Facts

The Sydney Thunder squad has an exciting lineup of players, many of whom are recognised in the international cricketing world. Read on to know more about the BBL career-high points of the Sydney Thunder players:

  1. Sydney Thunder’s highest single-innings total was against Brisbane Heat in December 2014 at 208/1. Usman Khawaja holds the record for having scored the most runs (992 in total).
  2. Captain Callum Ferguson is currently one of the few players in the team who has scored a century. Overall, he has scored 544 runs from 21 matches with a strike rate of 127.69. He has also scored a half-century in the past.
  3. Bowler, Gurinder Sandhu is known for his record 41 wickets, the highest by any Sydney Thunder player.
  4. A middle-order batsman and off-spinner Chris Green has dismissed 31 batsmen in six seasons of the BBL. His best bowling record stands at 3-27 and his highest batting score in a single innings is 49.
  5. Jason Sangha is the youngest player on the team, having signed on to be part of the Sydney Thunder squad at the tender age of 16. He has a single-innings not-out batting score of 63 and a strike rate of 104, having played in just thirteen matches so far.

Play Big Bash League at Dream11

At Dream11, you can win big in fantasy practice and cash contests based on the Sydney Thunder scorecard in a real match. Here’s how:

So, make sure you follow the Sydney Thunders fixtures and plan your next move for the various fantasy practice and cash contests on Dream11 now. You have the chance to beat many at fantasy cricket on Dream11.

Sydney Thunder Match Schedule

Date & Time Matches Stadium Results
17th Dec 2019 (1:40 PM) Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder The Gabba Sydney Thunder won by 29 Runs
19th Dec 2019 (1:40 PM) Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder Geelong Sydney thunder won by Six Wickets
21st Dec 2019 (12:40 PM) Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers TBC No Results
28th Dec 2019 (1:40 PM) Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder SCG Sydney Sixers won the Super Over by 1 Run
31st Dec 2019 (1:40 PM) Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder Adelaide Oval Sydney Thunder won by 3 Runs
2nd Jan 2020 (10:10 AM) Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars Sydney Showground Melbourne Stars won by 3 wkts
6th Jan 2020 (1:40 PM) Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat Sydney Showground
8th Jan 2020 (1:40 PM) Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder MCG
11th Jan 2020 (12:40 PM) Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes Sydney Showground
15th Jan 2020 (12:40 PM) Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades TBC
18th Jan 2020 (1:40 PM) Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers Sydney Showground
20th Jan 2020 (4:10 PM) Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder Perth Stadium
24th Jan 2020 (12:40 PM) Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder Bellerive
26th Jan 2020 (9:15 AM) Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers Sydney Showground

Sydney Thunder Facts

Matches Played 73
Matches Won 24
Matches loss 47
No Result 2
Highest Total 208/1, Against Brisbane Heat
Most Runs Scored Shane Watson, 1014 Runs in 40 Inning
Most Wickets Take Fawad Ahmed , 40 Wickets in 40 Inning
Highest Scores Callum Ferguson, 113 Run
Best Bowling Figures Fawad Ahmed , 4/14 Against Sydney Sixers

Sydney Thunder Stats

Season Rank Matches Won Lost Tied No Result Points Net Run Rate
BBL Season 1 8 7 2 5 0 0 4 0.25
BBL Season 2 8 8 0 8 0 0 0 -1.36
BBL Season 3 8 8 1 7 0 0 2 -0.654
BBL Season 4 7 8 2 5 0 1 5 -0.485
BBL Season 5 4 8 4 4 0 0 8 0.375
BBL Season 6 8 8 3 5 0 0 6 -0.6
BBL Season 7 6 10 4 6 0 0 8 -0.437
BBL Season 8 6 14 6 7 0 1 13 0
BBL Season 9 4 6 3 2 0 1 7 0.33

Sydney Thunder 2019-2020

Callum Ferguson Australian Captain
Jonathan Cook Australian Bowler
Oliver Davies Australian Bowler
Mathew Gilkes Australian Wicketkeeper
Chris Green Australian Bowler
Alex Hales English Batsman
Usman Khawaja Australian Batsman
Jay Lenton Australian Wicketkeeper
Nathan McAndrew Australian Bowler
Chris Morris South African Bowler
Arjun Nair Australian All Rounder
Alex Ross Australian Batsman
Daniel Sams Australian Bowler
Gurinder Sandhu Australian Bowler
Jason Sangha Australian Batsman
Tanveer Sangha Australian Bowler
Chris Tremain Australian Bowler

Other teams in Big Bash Leagues