Orange Cap Winners List

Runs win matches, it is as simple as that, and the IPL looks to appreciate individual brilliance. The Orange Cap is a prize worn in circulation during the IPL season by the highest-scoring player. At the end of the season, this special memorabilia is given to the man who ends the tournament with the highest number of runs on the board. If two batsmen end the tournament with the same number of runs, the Orange Cap is given to the cricket player with the higher strike rate. Even though cricket is a team sport and a team wins when everyone performs, crediting individual brilliance is important.

Orange Cap 2019 - David Warner:

Matches Played 12
Runs Scored 692
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner was awarded the Orange Cap winner in the IPL 2019 season as he finished the season with 692 runs from the 12 matches he played. His continued onslaught on bowlers helped his side narrowly secure the playoff spot. The runs he scored included 8 half-centuries and a century. He also smashed 57 fours and 21 sixes. Unfortunately, he couldn’t help his side to another title as he had to join the Australian camp for their World Cup preparations.

Orange Cap 2018 - Kane Williamson:

Matches Played 17
Runs Scored 735
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kane Williamson was handed the captaincy of the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the start of the season and he certainly repaid the management for having faith in him. He almost won them their second title as he led his team to the final against Dhoni’s CSK. He scored 735 runs in the 17 matches he played, scoring eight half-centuries. He also smashed 64 boundaries and 28 sixes on the way to winning his first Orange Cap 2018 award. Considered among the best batsmen in the world, he once again proved he can do it against anyone on any condition.

Orange Cap 2017 - David Warner:

Matches Played 14
Runs Scored 641
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Australian was in the form of his life during this season of the IPL. He scored 641 runs from the 14 matches he played. Along the way, he racked up four half-centuries and a very special century. His 126 run stint was the highest score put up by a captain in IPL history. He plundered the bowlers with 63 boundaries and 26 sixes. Even though his team didn't make it to the playoffs, he still was the IPL Orange Cap winner, proving that in the 2017 season, he was a cut above all the other batsmen.

Orange Cap 2016 - Virat Kohli:

Matches Played 16
Runs Scored 973
Team Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli is one of only three Indians to win the Orange Cap 2016 in the IPL. Virat Kohli became the first player in IPL history to score over 900 runs in one season. He ended the season with 973 runs from 16 matches but unfortunately, RCB fell at the final hurdle. In spite of this, the Indian captain had an IPL to remember, where he scored 7 half-centuries and an astonishing four centuries. He did this with his commendable 83 fours and 38 sixes.

Orange Cap 2015 - David Warner:

Matches Played 14
Runs Scored 562
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner won his first IPL Orange cap in the 2015 season, thanks to his aggressive and hard-hitting batting style. He amassed 562 runs in 14 matches, and even though he played fewer matches than the teams qualifying for the playoffs, he still picked up the Orange Cap at the end of the season. The 65 fours and 21 sixes that flew off his bat were certainly a sign of things to come for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Orange Cap Winners from 2008 to 2014:

Year Winner Team Innings Runs Highest Score Average Strike Rate 50s 100s 4s 6s
IPL 2014 Robin Uthappa Kolkata Knight Riders 16 660 83 44 137.78 5 0 74 18
IPL 2013 Michael Hussey Chennai uper Kings 17 733 95 52.35 129.5 6 0 81 17
IPL 2012 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 733 128 61.08 160.74 7 1 46 59
IPL 2011 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 12 608 107 67.55 183.13 3 2 57 44
IPL 2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 15 618 89 47.53 132.61 5 0 86 3
IPL 2009 Matthew Hayden Chennai Super Kings 12 572 89 52 144.81 5 0 60 22
IPL 2008 Shaun Marsh Kings XI Punjab 11 616 115 68.44 139.68 5 1 59 26

Every year a whole host of players compete to be the Orange Cap winner and this season will be no other. The likes of Jonny Bairstow, Aaron Finch, Jos Butler, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul would be in contention to win this year. Apart from these reputed run machines, there are a few uncapped players too who pull off a surprise. The likes of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Nitish Rana and Devdutt Padikkal aren’t ones to be slept on.

Indian Premier League Teams

Indian Premier League matches