Purple Cap Winners List

Cricket, as they say, is a batsman’s game. Especially in the T20 format, the game has been designed to see maximum runs scored in the least number of balls. The presence of power plays and flatter tracks in the modern day have made it even tougher for bowlers to be as impactful as they were back in the day. In spite of everything stacked up against them, there are some bowlers who are just too good. The Purple Cap was brought in to celebrate just this ability of bowlers to beat the odds and win it for their side. It is worn by the cricket player with the most number of wickets and rotated throughout the tournament. At the end of the season, Purple Cap memorabilia is awarded to the tournament’s highest wicket-taker.

Purple Cap winner 2019 - Imran Tahir:

Matches Played 17
Wickets Taken 26
Team Chennai Super Kings

Last season, Imran Tahir became the second South African to win the IPL Purple Cap 2019. His 26 wickets were instrumental in CSK’s run to the final. His ability to outfox batsmen with his spin bowling made him a key asset for Dhoni. He ended the season with 26 wickets from the 17 matches he played. His extravagant celebration after dismissing a wicket was another highlight of the 2019 IPL.

Purple Cap winner 2018 - Andrew Tye:

Matches Played 14
Wickets Taken 24
Team Kings XI Punjab

Andrew Tye has had an odd spell in the IPL. In the three seasons he played, he was splendid in one where he won the IPL Purple Cap 2018 and almost invisible in the other two. He was Kings XI Punjab’s main pace bowler. He picked up 24 wickets in the 14 matches he played. For the IPL 2020 season, he will be representing the Rajasthan Royals and will be looking to prove his doubters wrong with another wicket laden season.

Purple Cap winner 2017 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar:

Matches Played 14
Wickets Taken 26
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

In 2017, India’s very own king of swing, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, became the only bowler to retain the Purple Cap 2017. He picked up 26 wickets in just 14 games. He was one of only three players to take five wickets in a single match that season. A mainstay of the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad for quite a while now, his bowling has been key to them qualifying for the playoffs. Although they fell short this season, Bhuvi was still on fire all through the tournament.

Purple Cap winner 2016 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Matches Played 17
Wickets Taken 23
Team Sunrisers Hyderabad

Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up his first IPL Purple Cap in 2016. His 23 wickets in 17 matches were instrumental in his side’s run to their first-ever IPL title. His ability to swing the ball both ways at the start of the match and then come back to choke batsmen in the death overs made him one of the best bowlers in the world. Since his move to SRH in 2014, he has reached a whole new level and would look to continue his brilliant bowling in the upcoming IPL season.

Purple Cap winner 2015 - Dwayne Bravo:

Matches Played 16
Wickets Taken 26
Team Chennai Super Kings

Dwayne Bravo won his second IPL Purple Cap as he picked up 26 wickets in his 16 matches. Although his side fell at the final hurdle, there was no denying that Bravo was just unplayable that year. Apart from the purple cap win, he also contributed with the bat, scoring 195 runs. He is the only West Indian player to win this prestigious award. For the upcoming campaign in 2020, he will once again pull on the yellow of CSK as they look to secure their fourth title.

Purple Cap Winners from 2008 to 2014:

Year Winner Team Matches Wickets Economy 5W
IPL 2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 16 23 8.39 0
IPL 2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 18 32 7.95 0
IPL 2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 16 25 7.19 0
IPL 2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 16 28 5.95 1
IPL 2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 16 21 7.29 0
IPL 2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 16 23 6.98 0
IPL 2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 11 22 6.46 1

Every IPL season, the stars from around the world fly down to compete for the biggest prize in franchise cricket. The likes of Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Rashid Khan and Pat Cummins will certainly be expected to uproot a fair few stumps. Given the class of the overseas players on show, the uncapped players often go under the radar. Players like Harshal Patel, Shreyas Gopal and Prasidh Krishna are players you should certainly keep your eyes on. This IPL season, be a part of the fantasy cricket action with Dream11 -- download the app today!

Indian Premier League Teams

Indian Premier League matches