IPL Winners List

For us Indians, cricket is more than just a sport, it’s almost a religion. Over the years, the game has gotten shorter and shorter, culminating in the T20 format. Cricket was traditionally a national affair and no one ever thought a club-and-league format would work for the gentleman’s game. All of that changed in 2008 when the Indian Premier League was introduced. It was a two-month-long cricketing bonanza that saw players leave their national colours aside and unite to represent their club. Since then, each year, every cricket fanatic would go into overdrive as teams competed to be named the winner of the IPL.

IPL finals have always been a tight affair; here’s looking at the finals:

IPL Final 2019 - MI vs CSK, RGI Cricket Stadium:

Champions Mumbai Indians
Runner Up Chennai Super Kings
Venue Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
Date 12 May 2019
Result Mumbai Indians Won by 1 Run
Man of the Match Jasprit Bumrah

The outcome seemed inevitable. Mumbai Indians beat CSK for the fourth time to become the first four-time IPL champions. In no way was this a one-sided match, with Mumbai taking the victory by just one run.

It was Kieron Pollard’s innings that kept Mumbai in the match, putting up a total of 150 for CSK to chase. Imran Tahir and Deepak Chahar ripped apart the opposition although the total seemed well within their reach. Shane Watson almost won it for CSK all by himself, but an unnecessary extra run saw him get run-out. MS Dhoni seemed to be the man of the hour but he too got run out and from there on, things looked tough. This time around, it was the 36-year-old Malinga who bowled a peach of a slower ball to win it for Mumbai as CSK failed to make 2 runs off the last ball.

IPL Final 2018 - CSK vs SRH, Wankhede Stadium:

Champions Chennai Super Kings
Runner Up Sunrisers Hyderabad
Venue Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Date 27 May 2018
Result Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets
Man of the Match Shane Watson

SRH batted first, off to a slow start, but played smart. They kept wickets in hand and went big towards the end. Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson and Yusuf Pathan scored big and put up a solid 178. Up against the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan and Shakib al Hassan, CSK, the champions of chasing, did what they do best.

They too had a slow start, with Watson taking 11 balls to get off the mark, but once he did, there was no stopping him. A century was scored as Chennai Super Kings wrapped up their third IPL title on their return to the tournament. Suresh Raina did his bit too but it was the Aussie who stole the headlines as the IPL trophy returned to its spiritual home.

IPL Final 2017 - MI vs RPS, RGI Cricket Stadium:

Champions Mumbai Indians
Runner Up Rising Pune Supergiant
Venue Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
Date 21 May 2017
Result Mumbai Indians won by 1 run
Man of the Match Krunal Pandya

Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first in spite of having a much better record while chasing. Jaydev Unadkat dismissed both openers in one over and that set the tone for the batting to come. Krunal Pandya almost single-handedly took the score to a respectable 129, giving the bowlers something to fight for.

RPS had the chance to win the IPL in their last ever match and absolutely blew it. Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith put up a fight but they kept losing wickets. In the end, Mitchell Johnson was the man of the hour, picking up three wickets in his final over and condemning the Pune team to a 1 run defeat.

IPL Final 2016 - SRH vs RCB, Chinnaswamy Stadium:

Champions Sunrisers Hyderabad
Runner Up Royal Challengers Bangalore
Venue M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
Date 29 May 2016
Result Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 8 runs
Man of the Match Ben Cutting

RCB went into the final at their own home ground as heavy favourites against IPL debutants, Sunrisers Hyderabad. This match saw the best batting side in RCB take on the best bowling side in SRH, a mouth-watering encounter.

David Warner showed his fearlessness, opting to bat first, and his team certainly didn’t disappoint. Warner led the charge and Cutting added the finishing touches by scoring 24 of the last over, taking the total to 208. Virat Kohli, who ended the season with the orange cap, was not ready to give up so easily. He and Gayle put up an impressive opening partnership of 114. Once Gayle was dismissed, the rest of the batting lineup fell like a pack of cards. In the end, the debutants took home the trophy, winning by 8 runs.

IPL Final 2015 - MI vs CSK, Eden Garden:

Champions Mumbai Indians
Runner Up Chennai Super Kings
Venue Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Date 24 May 2015
Result Mumbai Indians won by 41 runs
Man of the Match Rohit Sharma

Mumbai Indians pulled off an unprecedented comeback to win their second IPL title in 2015. MI vs CSK was a repeat of the 2013 final at the same grounds with the same result.

Although Mumbai was off to a poor start, Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma both scored half-centuries while Kieron Pollard and Harbhajan Singh applied the final touches as MI put up a score of 202. CSK had a mountain to climb. The entire bowling unit of Mumbai did their part as Chennai kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina and all other consistent performers crumbled under the pressure and put up a total of only 161 runs while losing their third final in four years.

IPL Final Winners from 2008 to 2014:

Season Winner Runner-up Final venue Winning Margin Man of the Match
IPL 2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Won by 3 wickets Manish Pandey
IPL 2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Eden Gardens Won by 23 runs Kieron Pollard
IPL 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Won by 5 wickets Manvinder Bisla
IPL 2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Won by 58 runs Murali Vijay
IPL 2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians DY Patil Stadium Won by 22 runs Suresh Raina
IPL 2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Wanderers Stadium Won by 6 runs Anil Kumble
IPL 2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings DY Patil Stadium Won by 3 wickets Yusuf Pathan

The IPL season brings out the inner cricket fanatic in all of us. Two months of action-packed cricket, with the world’s best cricket players competing to win the biggest prize in franchise cricket. The IPL has truly revolutionized cricket and just like the past 12 years, this year too the IPL comes with the promise of big sixes, splendid wickets, breathtaking catches and nail-biting finishes.

Indian Premier League Teams

Indian Premier League matches