dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors

The last time Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors met in the Caribbean Premier League 2021, they churned out a hard-fought draw, but GAW was able to win it in the Super Over. TKR team depends a lot on experience, with the likes of Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine, and Colin Munro forming its core.
Love to watch the thrilling CPL T20 Cricket matches, now feel the thrill as you make your own fantasy cricket team on Dream11.
GAW has an exciting blend of youth power with experienced internationals. But it’s the group of exciting young blood, such as Keemo Paul, Nicolas Pooran, Sherfane Rutherford, and Odean Smith, that most of us look forward to.
Will the Caribbean Premier League 2022 be any different and prove one of them to be the unprecedented leader, or will we see TKR hitting right back?
We put forth all the possibilities in this article.

History of Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors

Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (GAW) has been a closely fought affair, with both teams failing to stamp their authority. To date, both teams have gone head-to-head 23 times, with TKR winning 12 matches and 11 going to the GAW’s favour. So going by the numbers, it is fair to say it is even-steven at this moment, and both teams have been able to give it a fight when it mattered.

Some memorable TKR vs GAW matches

One of the most memorable Trinbago vs Guyana matches took place on the 27th of March, 2019. On that day, GAW brought up their highest score against TKR – 185/6, thanks to hefty contributions by Chandrapaul Hemraj and Shimron Hetmyer. But it was the late surge from Romario Shepherd, who scored 32 from 13, which stole the match for them. Javon Searles was able to secure three wickets but gave away 39 runs in his three overs in return.
In reply, TKR started poorly with their top three getting out cheaply, but Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard took the game to the opposition and threatened to run away with it, but Chris Green’s economical spell of 4-0-18-2 turned the tide in GAW’s favour, and they won it by 19 runs.
Another memorable match would be the last time these sides faced each other on the 1st of September, 2021. Both sides could manage 138, and the match was tied. Shepherd again was the wrecker-in-chief as he successfully overshadowed Sunil Narine’s exceptional Super Over performance, giving away just 6 runs and picking up the two wickets. In the end, Romario Shepherd gave away just 4 runs and took the wicket of Pollard on the first ball to seal the game for his team.

Head to head records so far

Before CPL 2021, the record stood at 12-9 in favour of TKR. But they lost both the matches in the 2021’s edition, albeit by small margins – one by nine runs and another in the Super Over, making it 12-11.
While the win-loss ratio doesn’t take us anywhere, let us delve deeper to see if we can figure out who rules the roost between these two.
The average runs scored is 141.3 and 139.7 by TKR and GAW, respectively, with a minimum of 103 by both sides. They both have won thrice batting first, and TKR has won nine times compared to 8 by GAW batting second. While GAW won it on both occasions when they came to loggerheads with TKR in the CPL 2021, TKR did the same in CPL 2020.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!

Key players to watch for in 2022

Given that team stats barely could prove anything, let us delve into player numbers to see who has been ruling it when it comes to head-to-head competition.
Here are the top batting performers in the TKR vs GAW encounters –
  • Colin Munro – 527 runs
  • Darren Bravo – 451 runs
  • Lendl Simmons – 390 runs
  • Shimron Hetmeyer – 351 runs
  • Denesh Ramdin – 335 runs
Here are the top bowling performers in the TKR vs GAW encounters –
  • Sunil Narine – 25 wickets
  • Dwayne Bravo – 25 wickets
  • Khary Pierre – 14 wickets
  • Veerasammy Permaul – 13 wickets
  • Sohail Tanvir – 12 wickets

Which batters/bowlers/all-rounders from Trinbago Knight Riders are game-changers & why?

Colin Munro has been a consistent performer for the four-time CPL winners, Trinbago, and he is also the only player to have scored a ton when these two star-studded teams have locked horns. On the batting front, we also can expect the skipper, Kieron Pollard, to come good for the TKR side. Tim Seifert also seems to be an exciting talent and has made his presence felt in whatever chances he has got.
On the bowling front, the experienced Ravi Rampaul has been a proven performer for the side and will lead the attack with his lethal pace. The spin department seems to be covered too, with the likes of Sunil Narine, left-armer Akeal Hosein, and Yasir Shah.
So, while it is difficult to figure out one player who can be a potential game-changer, our bet would be on Lendl Simmons for his sheer ability to play the patient game and change gear at will.

Which batters/bowlers/all-rounders from Guyana Amazon Warriors are game-changers & why?

Nicolas Pooran has impressed one and all with his effortless hitting. Given that he was the only WI batsman in a rich vein of form in the recently concluded India-WI T20I series, we expect him to continue his dominance in the CPL 2022.
In addition, GAW has two Pakistani veterans – Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez as their batting mainstays.
In the bowling department, Imran Tahir is still very much in his mojo, and Naveen-ul-Haq will give him good company.
But it is the list of all-rounders in this team that had us huffing and puffing. Both Romario Shepherd and Odean Smith can hit the long ball, and the latter can even bowl the problematic overs. Odean Smith’s lacklustre hitting was one of the highlights for the WI side in the recently concluded T20I series vs India, and we expect him to be the star player for GAW this season.

Guyana amazon warriors vs Trinbago knight riders match prediction

Given the team sheets, we are inclined toward the Guyana Amazon Warriors, as they have a more robust set of all-rounders. But it would not be very reasonable to write off the four-time CPL winners, TKR, just yet.
To know more on T20 fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.