dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 Match Overview

The India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 match will take place on October 8. This will be the first match for both teams at the tournament. They will look to get off to a winning start. India vs. Australia cricket match has taken place 12 times at the Men's ODI World Cup, with the Aussies leading 8-4. Australia are five-time Men's ODI World Cup champions, while India have been winners twice. Both teams are considered among the tournament favourites. There is also some good news for fans! You can use your cricketing expertise to build a fantasy team for the India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 match and win some cool prizes.

India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 Expected Teams

Expected Squad For the Indian Team Expected Squad For the Australian Team
Rohit Sharma ©, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah. Pat Cummins ©, David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Cameron Green, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa
*This is a tentative squad of each team. Final players will be known before the start of the tournament.

Make Your Dream11 Team Today With Expert Guidance from Dream11 Gurus!

India vs. Australia World Cup Head-to-Head Summary

Here is a summary of India vs. Australia World Cup head-to-head matches in the ODI format.
Team Matches Won Lost Tied Highest Score Lowest Score
India 12 4 8 - 352 125
Australia 12 8 4 - 359 128

India vs. Australia World Cup Stats Year-Wise

Ahead of the India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 encounter, we take a more detailed look at previous ODI World Cups:
Year Result Match Overview
1983 Australia won by 162 runs Group Stage, 13th June 1983: Trevor Chappell's 110 helped Australia post 320/9. Kapil Dev's 5-43 and 27-ball 40 were the saving grace for India.
1983 India won by 118 runs Group Stage, 20th June 1983: India's middle order helped them post 247. Australia replied with only 129. Madan Lal and Roger Binny picked 4 wickets each.
1987 Australia won by 1 run Group Stage, 9th October 1987: Geoff Marsh hit a century. Chasing 271, Srikkanth's 70 and Sidhu's 73 took India to 207/2, but after a steady collapse, India fell just short.
1987 India won by 56 runs Group Stage, 22nd October 1987: India posted 289/6. Azharuddin, who'd scored 54 off 45, also picked 3 wickets, as did Maninder Singh, to restrict Australia to 233.
1992 Australia won by 1 run (revised target) Round Robin Group Stage, 1st March 1992: Dean Jones' 90 took Australia to 237/10, with Kapil Dev and Manoj Prabhakar picking identical figures of 3-41. Azharuddin's 93 helped India almost reach the target.
1996 Australia won by 16 runs Group Stage, 27th February 1996: Mark Waugh scored 126 and dismissed the well-set Tendulkar for 90. India was bowled out for 242, with Damien Fleming picking 5-36.
1999 Australia won by 77 runs Super Sixes, 4th June 1999: Mark Waugh's 83 helped Australia post 282/6. Ajay Jadeja's 100 and RR Singh's 75 were the saving graces in India's 205 all out.
2003 Australia won by 9 wickets Group Stage, 15th February 2003: India were dismissed for 125, which remains their lowest Men's ODI World Cup score. Lee and Gillespie picked 3 wickets each.
2003 Australia won by 125 runs. Final, 23rd March, 2003: Ricky Ponting's stunning 140* and Damien Martyn's 84-ball 88 took Australia to 359. Apart from Sehwag and Dravid, none of the Indian batters got going.
2011 India won by 5 wickets Quarterfinal, 24th March 2011: Ricky Ponting's hundred took Australia to 260/6. Yuvraj Singh's unbeaten 57 guided India from 187/5 to a win.
2015 Australia won by 95 runs Semifinal, 26th March 2015: Aaron Finch's 83 and Steven Smith's 105 took Australia to 328/7. India's top order was dismissed quickly after a brisk start, and Australia's bowing proved too hot to handle.
2019 India won by 36 runs Round Robin Group Stage, 9th June 2019: Shikhar Dhawan's century took India to 352/5. Australia maintained a consistent flow of runs but kept losing wickets and were bowled out for 316.

India vs Australia World Cup Match Expected Top Players

Here are the players to look out for in the India vs. Australia World Cup ODI.
Kohli: In 47 ODI innings, Virat has scored 2220 runs against Australia, at an average of 50.45. This includes 11 fifties and 8 hundreds.
Steven Smith: In 21 ODI innings against India, Smith has amassed 1146 runs at a stunning average of 54.57. This includes 5 fifties and hundreds each.
Mohammad Shami: Shami has picked 35 wickets in 22 ODI innings against Australia. He also has eight 3-wicket hauls and 15 'bowled' dismissals against them.
Mitchell Starc: Starc has 29 wickets in 18 ODI innings against India. This includes two 5-wicket hauls, both of which came against the hosts this year.
Mitchell Marsh: Marsh scored 194 runs across three ODIs against India earlier this year. He is also a handy bowler and can stem the flow of runs in the middle overs.
These players can give your teams a boost in the India vs. Australia World Cup 2023 fantasy cricket match.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.