dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Ipl purple cap Players

What does a Purple cap player mean? Who gets the Purple cap?

Purple Cap is basically an award that is tournament-specific, as it is not awarded in general ICC cricket matches or series, but it is given away in India’s most loved game format, Indian Premier League (IPL). IPL is a professional men’s T20 cricket league founded by the BCCI that takes place every year from March to May.
Purple Cap is the award given to a player who takes the highest number of wickets in an IPL season. The bowler bagging the most wickets in the tournament wears the Purple Cap while fielding during the entire season. And on the day of the grand finale of that season, the Purple Cap award is awarded to the player who has bagged most wickets and has topped the list of the wicket takers. If any case of a tie arises, then the IPL Purple Cap award is awarded to the bowler with a superior economy rate, i.e the one who has taken the wickets in the least number of balls.
Now, you can choose the top purple cap players as you make your own IPL fantasy cricket team on Dream11

How many Indians have won the Purple Cap in the IPL?

Out of the fourteen IPL seasons that have taken place, with the latest being IPL 2021, only five of those seasons have seen an Indian player registering his name in the IPL Purple Cap List. Till now, only four Indian players have been declared the IPL Purple Cap Winners.
Here are the names of the Indians who are known to be the Purple Cap Holders in IPL season since the year of its commencement:

Which team has won the most Purple Caps in IPL?

The team that has won the Purple Cap the most number of times is Chennai Super Kings. Under Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s captaincy, Chennai Super Kings team bowlers have shown exceptional performances and thus hold the record of being IPL Purple Cap winners the maximum number of times.
Hers is the IPL Purple Cap list of players of Chennai Super Kings:
  • Dwayne Bravo in 2013
  • Mohit Sharma in 2014
  • Dwayne Bravo in 2015
  • Imran Tahir in 2019

Who are the Purple cap holders from IPL 2008 to 2022?

As you look into the ipl purple cap list, you will find that there are four Indian players and seven foreign players who are listed as Purple Cap Holders in IPL seasons till IPL 2021.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!
Here are the names of the IPL Purple Cap Winners from 2008 to 2021:
The IPL 2022 season is scheduled to start from 2nd April, 47 days after the 2022 mega auction, and we will see yet another player with the IPL Purple Cap.

Who has been the purple cap holder in IPL three times?

When you take a look at the awards and honours in the IPL history, you will find that the Purple Cap award has been clinched two times by a single player. And, only two players hold this record - one of them is an Indian and the other is a foreign player. The names of these two players are Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo respectively.

Which uncapped player won the Purple Cap in IPL history?

An uncapped player is the one who has not represented and played for his national team. The uncapped players get the opportunity to play in various IPL teams and show their talent and performance that in turn will help them get selected for their national team in the future.
Among the uncapped players who have played in IPL seasons to date, Harshal Patel is the only one to have won the Purple Cap in IPL season 2021. He was initially signed by Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2018 and then traded to the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in 2021, bagging 32 wickets in 15 matches, and was thus awarded the IPL Purple Cap.
Later in the year, he was handed the maiden international cap and made his T20 debut for India against New Zealand on 19th November 2021.

Who are the Purple Cap winners in IPL until 2020?

Below is the IPL Purple Cap list of players who are the IPL Purple Cap winners until 2020.
Year Nationality IPL Purple Cap winners Played for IPL team
2008 Pakistan Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals
2009 India R.P. Singh Deccan Chargers
2010 India Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers
2011 Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians
2012 South Africa Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils
2013 West Indies Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings
2014 India Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2015 West Indies Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings
2016 India Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 India Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad
2018 Australia Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab
2019 South Africa Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings
2020 South Africa Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals
To know more about Fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.