dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+
We have witnessed some magnificent individual performances by both Indian and overseas cricketers over the years in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Here's the list of the cricketers who have scored the fastest 50s until the 16th edition of the IPL.

1. Yashasvi's Resurgence: 50 of 13 Balls Against Kolkata Knight Riders

After two successive disappointing seasons, Yashasvi Jaiswal put all his doubters to rest by scoring an impressive 625 runs in the latest edition of the Indian Premier League. However, playing for the Rajasthan Royals, the highlight of his season was the match-winning 98* of 47 balls he scored against the Kolkata Knight Riders. In doing so, he scored the fastest 50 by any batsman in Indian Premier League at just 13 balls.

2. KL Unleashed: 50 off 14 Balls Against Delhi Darevils (Delhi Capitals)

Back in 2018, Kings XI Punjab failed to make it to the playoffs. However, their opener, KL Rahul, did manage to register the fastest 50 in IPL history by scoring a scintillating 14-ball 50 against Delhi Daredevils at a mammoth strike rate of 318.75. KL went on to become the 3rd highest run-getter of the 2018 IPL season as well.

3. Pat Takes Charge: 50 of 14 Balls Against Mumbai Indians

In the 2022 IPL Season, chasing 161, KKR lost 5 wickets in 13.1 overs with 104 runs on the board. What followed was a batting masterclass by the current Aussies Captain, Pat Cummings. He smashed 6 sixes and 4 boundaries to win the game for KKR with 24 balls to spare. In the process, he became the third fastest 50 runs scorer in the Indian Premier League at just 14 balls.

4. Pathan Power: 50 of 15 Balls Against Sunrises Hyderabad

The 2014 IPL season was the second time the Kolkata Knight Riders won the trophy. Their surge to the ultimate glory was backed up by some brilliant batting performances by Yusuf Pathan. He smashed a record 15-ball half-century against the Sunrises to become the fastest 50 scorer in the history of IPL. He followed that up with good performances in the qualifiers as well as the final.

5. Sunil Storm: 50 of 15 Balls Against Royal Challengers Bangalore

In 2017, Gautam Gambhir, the Kolkata Knight Riders Captain, introduced the world to the "Sunil Narine-the batter". Promoted up the batting order, Narine scored the fastest 50 in the IPL history. A 17-ball 50 that featured 6 boundaries and 4 sixes outclassed the Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling attack and helped KKR beat RCB in their backyard.

6. Pooran Periphery: 50 of 17 Balls Against Royal Challengers Bangalore

Who doesn't love a nail-biting finish to a cricket game? This 2023 game was of such kind. Nicholas Pooran, the West Indian power hitter, smashed a fifty at just 15 balls. Striking at 326.31, Pooran set the stage for the Lucknow Supergiants. In the end, LSG came out victorious in the ultimate ball of the match.

7. Rampant Raina: 50 of 15 Balls Against Kings XI Punjab

Suresh Raina's 87 of 25 balls has to be one of the most memorable innings of the Indian Premier League 2014. Chasing 226 set by the Kings XI Punjab, Raina wreaked havoc and smashed 12 fours and 6 sixes. He reached 50 at only 15 balls, equalling the previous record of fastest 50s in IPL set by Yusuf Pathan 6 days ago.

8. Ishan's Dominance: 50 of 16 Balls Against Sunrisers Hyderabad

The 2021 IPL season was special for Mumbai Indians. They won their 5th IPL trophy, with memorable performances from their star players. Particularly, Ishan Kishan's 82 from 32 balls stands out. He smashed 11 fours and 4 sixes to help MI reach 235 of 20 overs and, in the process, scored the fastest 50 in 16 balls.

9. Pollard Power: 50 of 17 Balls Against Kolkata Knight Riders

Chasing 174 put up by the Kolkata Knight Riders, Kieran Pollard smashed the fastest 50 at just 17 balls in the 2016 IPL. Dismantling the KKR bowling attack, the Mumbai Indians continued their dominance over the KKR at the Wankhede Stadium and won the game with two overs to spare. Pollard hit 6 sixes at a strike rate of 300 and remained unbeaten till the end.

10. All Hail Gayle: 50 of 17 Balls Against Pune Warriors

How can the universal boss not make the cut on our list of the fastest 50s in IPL? This remains the greatest IPL innings in history. An unbeaten 175* by Chris Gayle blew the Pune Warriors away. The Gayle storm caused major havoc at Chinnaswasmy in IPL 2013. He hit 17 sixes and a further 13 fours, registering the fastest 50 of just 17 balls. Apart from these, Hardik Pandya (Mumbai Indians), Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers), and Chris Morris (Delhi Capitals) have also registered the fastest 50s in just 17 balls as well. Get all such statistics and several records tally at Dream11, your ultimate fantasy experience, where stats meet strategy. Download the Dream11 App now!

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.