dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Adelaide Strikers

History of Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers first originated in the year 2011, when the big bash league was introduced. It is an Australian professional Twenty20 franchise cricket team based in Adelaide, Australia. When the BBL was initially formed, every team had the opportunity to choose players and build their team from scratch.
Love to watch the T20 Big Bash League matches, now feel the thrill as you make your own fantasy cricket team on Dream11
The window to fill in the seats opened on 30 June 2011 at 9:00 in the morning, and it closed on 22 July 2011. Every team competing in the big bash league was allowed to take only 18 players, including two players from overseas. The first-ever captain of Adelaide Strikers was the South Australia captain, Micheal Klinger, whereas the team was coached under Darren Berry, the coach of Southern Redbacks.
In the year 2016-2017, Adelaide Strikers was rated as the “Most entertaining team” in the BBL.

Adelaide Strikers Sponsors

Season Kit manufacturer Shirt sponsor Back sponsor Breast sponsor Sleeve sponsor
2011-12 KooGa West End People's Choice Credit Union
2014-15 Majestic Athletic Jeep
2017-18 Vodafone
2018-19 Vodafone People's Choice Credit Union Vodafone
2019-20 Oaks
2020-21 People's Choice Credit Union
2021-22 Nike Australian Gas Networks Swyftx No Sponsor

Adelaide Strikers Players


Ryan Gibson Batsman Right Handed 28
Matt Renshaw Batsman Left Handed 25
Jake Weatherald Batsman Left Handed 27
Jonathan Wells Batsman Right Handed 33
Travis Head Batsman Left Handed 28
Liam Scott All Rounder - 21
Matt Short All Rounder Right Handed 26
Alex Carey Wicketkeeper Left Handed 30
Harry Nielsen Wicketkeeper Left Handed 26
Wes Agar Bowler Right Arm 25
Fawad Ahmed Bowler Right Arm 40
Harry Conway All Rounder Right Handed 29
George Garton Bowler Left Arm 24
Spencer Johnson Bowler - 26
Rashid Khan Bowler Right Arm 23
Liam O'Connor Bowler Right Arm 28
Peter Siddle Bowler Right Arm 37
Daniel Worrall Bowler Right Arm 30
Daniel Drew Batsman Right Handed 25
Thomas Kelly Batsman Right Handed 21
Henry Hunt Batsman Right Handed 25
Henry Thornton Bowler Right Arm 25
Ian Cockbain Batsman Right Handed 34

Adelaide Strikers Previous Coaches and Captains

Name Period Mat Won Lost %
Alex Carey 2019- 16 7 8 46.66
Brad Hodge 2015–2017 17 10 7 58.82
Michael Klinger 2011–2012 7 2 5 28.57
Peter Siddle 2020- 6 2 4 33.33
Phillip Hughes 2014 2 0 2 0.00
Travis Head 2017- 24 17 7 70.83
Colin Ingram 2018 14 5 9 35.71
Johan Botha 2012–2015 23 12 9 57.14

Adelaide Strikers scorecard

Season League Position Adelaide Strikers Performance
2011-2012 6th DNQ
2012-2013 5th DNQ
2013-2014 7th DNQ
2014-2015 1st Semi Finals
2015-2016 1st Semi Finals
2016-2017 6th DNQ
2017-2018 2nd Champions
2018-2019 7th DNQ
2019-2020 3rd Knocked out in the Knockout against the Thunder
2020-2021 5th Knocked out in the Eliminator against the Heat
2021-2022 4th Knocked out in the Challenger against Sixers

Highest Runs -

Batsman Runs Balls Opposition Ground Date
Jake Weatherald 115 70 Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 4 Feb 2018
Travis Head 101* 53 Sydney Sixers 31 Dec 2015
Alex Carey 101 62 Brisbane Heat 21 Jan 2021
100 56 Hobart Hurricanes 17 Jan 2018
Tim Ludeman 92* 44 Melbourne Stars 18 Dec 2014

Most Wickets -

Bowler Years Mat Inns Wkts BBI Avg
Rashid Khan 2017 55 55 81 6/17 17.25
Peter Siddle 2017 49 49 61 5/16 19.98
Ben Laughlin 2014–2019 50 49 60 4/26 22.61
Wes Agar 2017- 36 36 46 4/27 23.19
Kane Richardson 2011–2016 36 35 37 3/9 26.05
Billy Stanlake 2015-2020 39 39 34 3/17 31.79
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!

Key players of Adelaide Strikers

Adelaide Strikers 2021-2022 squad to watch out for -
Out of the eight teams competing in the BBL 2022, Adelaide Strikers, the time-two winner, is one of the strongest teams. However, after immense practice and trials, Adelaide Strikers lost the BBL 2021-2022 and were Knocked out in the Challenger against Sixers. Although it made its position in the top five list, which made their fans feel proud, the result was in favour of the Sixers.


Big Bash League, 2021-2022, is a much-awaited match by fans. Adelaide Strikers performing in the Big Bash League was another view fans were waiting for. Like always, matches played by them were an edge-of-the-seat thriller. Competition in the Big Bash League among eight different teams is such that it is often tough to separate two teams. However, the winner is always one, and in the session 2021-2022, it was not Adelaide Strikers.
To know more on TATA IPL fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.