dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Sydney Sixers

History of Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers are one of the most successful teams in the BBL (Big Bash League), which is held in Australia. They have won the league three times and have been runners-up on three different occasions. They are one of the two teams based in Sydney, with the other one being the Sydney Thunder.
Love to watch the T20 Big Bash League matches, now feel the thrill as you make your own fantasy cricket team on Dream11
The Sydney team's home ground is simply labelled the "Sydney Cricket Ground." It has a capacity of 48,601. The Sydney Sixers' home colours are magenta t-shirts and pants, and away colours are black and grey t-shirts with black pants.
The Sydney Sixers WBBL team, one of Sydney's women's teams, is also a championship winning side. They have won the title twice.

Sydney Sixers Owner

The Sydney Sixers, just like the other seven teams in the BBL, is not under a private ownership model, unlike teams in the IPL (Indian Premier League) and CPL (Caribbean Premier League). The states own teams in the BBL. The Sixers are currently owned by the Cricket Sydney Association.

Sydney Sixers Players

The following is the list of players that compete for the Sydney Sixers.

Sydney Sixers Captain and Coach

The Sydney Sixers' first-ever captain was former Australian national team wicket-keeper Brad Haddin. Later, the team was led by Moises Henriques, starting from the 2013 BBL until the present day. In Moises' absence, players, such as Steve Smith, Johan Botha, Marcus North, Nicholas Maddison, and Daniel Hughes have also captained the team.
Trevor Bayliss coached the Sydney team until 2015. Trevor led England to their first ODI World Cup in 2019 and the IPL team Kolkata Knight Riders to their league titles. Their current coach, Greg Shipperd, replaced him. Greg had earlier led the Melbourne Stars BBL team to four consecutive playoff positions.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!

Past performances in BBL

This Sydney team was the winner of the very first BBL back in 2011. Their tournament win helped them qualify for the Champions League T20 tournament, a tournament held annually for the best T20 teams in the world. They won all four of their group stage games comfortably. After beating South Africa's Titans T20 team off the last ball of the semi-final, they faced the Highveld Lions in the final. They chased down the target of 122 in just 12.3 overs and became the first-ever winners of the T20 Champions League.
The Sydney team won only two games in the 2012 BBL and finished second to last on the table. However, they managed to put their disappointment behind them and perform better in the coming seasons. In the BBL 2013, they lost only 1 out of 8 games in the regular season, and they lost the rain-reduced semi-final by just five runs. The next season was even closer. They reached the final, where they faced their arch-rivals - the Perth Scorchers. Perth needed just one run from three deliveries. However, Brett Lee picked up two wickets in two balls in his final game of professional cricket. With the equation down to 1 run from 1 ball, the Scorchers managed to steal a single to land the title.
After a bottom place finish in 2015-16, the following season was a familiar route, with the Sixers losing yet again to the Scorchers in the final. In the BBL 2018-19 league year, the team finished 3rd and were knocked out in the semis. However, the next three years proved to be their best run. They topped the league table in 2019-20 and won their second title in the final against the Melbourne Stars. The next season, they beat their arch-rivals Perth in the final by 27 runs.
The Sydney Sixers’ last match was the final of the BBL 2021-22. They reduced the Perth Scorchers to 25 for 4; however, Perth staged a comeback to reach 171 for 6 in their 20 overs. In reply, Sydney collapsed to 92 all out.

Sydney Sixers Key Players

Moises Henriques: Moises is one of the best all-rounders in the world at the moment. He has been a part of the Sydney team since their very first season in 2011. He became their captain in 2013 and has led them to back-to-back league titles. Furthermore, he played a crucial role in Sydney's first league title victory in 2011-12, scoring 70 off just 41 balls in the final against the Perth Scorchers.
Moises has scored 2021 runs in 80 batted innings at an average of 31.09, with a decent strike rate of 132.9. He averages a catch every two games. Moises has 15 30-plus scores and 11 half-centuries to his name. He is a key who is expected to lead the Sydney team next year as well.
Josh Philippe: Josh is a talented player who made his Australian national team debut in February 2021. Both his parents have played for Western Australia.
Josh joined the Sydney team for the 2018-19 BBL season, and since that time, he has retained his place in the team. Josh has won two titles with the Sydney team. In 56 batted innings, he has scored 1662 runs at an average of 34.62. He has a strike rate of 143.7, which is considered to be great for a top-order batter. Josh has eight 30-plus scores and 14 half-centuries to his name, with his highest score being 99. Josh has also affected 13 stumpings as a wicket-keeper.
James Vince: James is a high-quality, attacking batter who has single-handedly changed the fate of several games due to his efforts. Just like Josh Philippe, he has won two titles and almost clinched a third this year.
James has scored 1278 runs in 47 batted innings at an average of 30.42. He also has two 90-plus scores in the league. James only played 2 games in the 21-22 Big Bash, and he was clearly missed by the team.
James was also the player of the final in the 2021 season, scoring 95 off just 60 against the Scorchers.
To know more on T20 fantasy cricket playing 11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.