dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

About the Jamaica Tallawahs

The Jamaica Tallawahs is one of the 6 CPL teams competing in the Caribbean Premier League. They represent Jamaica. The team is well-known for its extraordinary home record, winning 5 out of every 6 home games since the end of the 2014 CPL season.
Love to watch the thrilling T20 Cricket matches, now feel the thrill as you make your own fantasy cricket team on Dream11
The Tallawahs' home ground is the Sabina Park, which is located in Kingston, Jamaica. It has a capacity of 15,600, which is one of the highest in the West Indies.
The Jamaica Tallawahs was one of the first teams that was created for the Caribbean Premier League in 2013. They have won 2 Hero CPL T20 titles - in 2013 and 2016.

Jamaica Tallawahs Owner

The owner of the Jamaica Tallawahs is Kris Persaud, who is a Guyanese businessman. He is deeply passionate about both cricket and Jamaica. His operations are headquartered at the Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida. Persaud fulfilled his lifelong dream of purchasing a cricket franchise in 2017 when he bought the Tallawahs. He bought the team via his Worldwide Sports Management Group.

Jamaica Tallawahs Players

The following is the list of players that played for the Jamaica Tallawahs in the CPL T20 2021 season.
  • Royman Powell (captain)
  • Jason Mohammed
  • Haider Ali
  • Shamarh Brooks
  • Abhijai Mansingh
  • Kirk McKenzie
  • Andre Russell
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Chadwick Walton
  • Chris Green
  • Kennar Lewis
  • Veerasammy Permaul
  • Qais Ahmed
  • Fidel Edwards
  • Migael Pretorius
  • Joshua James
  • Ryan Persaud

Jamaica Tallawahs’ Previous Coaches and Captains

The Tallawahs were captained by Chris Gayle between 2013 and 2016. Under his leadership, they won both their Caribbean Premier League titles. Former Sri Lanka captain and T20 World Cup winner Kumar Sangakkara led them in 2017, with Andre Russell taking his place in 2018.
Since 2019, the Jamaica Tallawahs have been captained by Rovman Powell. Shivnarine Chanderpaul, one of the West Indies' best-ever batsmen, has been appointed as the head coach for Tallawahs in the CPL 2022 season. He replaced Floyd Reifer, a former West Indies cricketer, who won six first-class titles with Barbados.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!

Key Players of Jamaica Tallawahs

Following are some key players for the Tallawahs:
Chris Gayle: Chris played for the Tallawahs between 2013 and 2019. In 53 innings, he scored 1,695 runs at an average of 38.52 at the top of the innings. He was a consistent performer, who had 16 30-plus scores, 8 half-centuries, and 4 centuries, which is a CPL record.
Chris was also a prolific captain, leading his team to 26 wins in 42 completed games, including two titles in 2013 and 2016 respectively. Chris proved to be a big game player in those finals. In the 2013 finals, on a tricky surface, he made an unbeaten 47 off 48 deliveries and was awarded as the man of the match. In the 2016 final against the Guyana Amazon Warriors, Chris smashed a 27-ball 54, to extinguish the Warriors chances of a fightback.
Andre Russell: While Andre Russell is considered to be an extremely prolific player for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League, he has also earned a great reputation while playing for the Tallawahs. Andre has played for the team since its inception in 2013. In 59 batted innings, he has scored 1,331 runs at an average of 32.46. This is a very good average for a player who generally bats in the death overs and is more likely to get dismissed.
Andre has maintained a strike rate of 180, which has propelled his team to many high-scoring totals. He has also proven to be a handy bowler, grabbing 67 wickets in 61 bowled innings at a splendid strike rate of 17.19. He also has a safe pair of hands, taking 50 catches.
Andre's best season was in the 2016 CPL, when he was named as "player of the tournament". That year, he grabbed 11 wickets and scored 281 runs. His standout performance was in the second qualifier against an extremely strong Trinbago Knight Riders squad. He smashed a 4- ball 100, which included 11 sixes, and took his team to the finals.

Past Performance of Jamaica Tallawahs in CPL

The Jamaica Tallawahs are the only team in the Caribbean Premier League to reach the playoffs six consecutive years in a row (between 2013-2018). They won their first title in the 1st CPL season, beating the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. The Amazon Warriors took their revenge the following season, by beating the Tallawahs in the qualifier to decide the second finalist. They lost in the playoffs in 2015 to the Trinbago Knight Riders, who eventually became champions. Chris Gayle was one of the high points of the Tallawahs season, notching 430 runs, which was the most in the series.
2016 proved to be another season of intriguing contests between the Warriors and the Tallawahs. Guyana beat the Tallawahs in the first qualifier and were the favourites to win in the final. But the Tallawahs knocked out the Knight Riders, and then trashed the Warriors in the final. The Guyana team were bundled out for just 93, and Jamaica won their second title by 9 wickets.
But their rivalry was not done yet. Guyana knocked out the Jamaica Tallawahs in the 2017 eliminator, and the Tallawahs lost yet another eliminator in the last over in 2018. However, 2019 was their worst season, as they won just 2 of 10 games, and finished at the bottom of the table. They barely scraped through to the semis in 2020. In the CPL 2021 season, they won just 4 out of 10 games and finished 5th out of 6 teams.

Likely Predictions for Jamaica Tallawahs in CPL 2022

The Jamaica Tallawahs have not had a good run since the 2019 league season, and they will be looking to make some serious changes. Their newly-appointed coaches, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Curtly Ambrose, who had great success as players of the West Indies team, are expected to bring major changes to the squad. While the team has some good all-rounders and wicket-keeping options, they are in desperate need of batting and bowling reinforcements. Here's hoping that they make the necessary changes to land their third CPL trophy.
To know more about Fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.