dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

England Team For T20 World Cup 2022

In international cricket, England’s cricket team represents Wales and England. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has governed the team since 1997, after Marylebone Cricket Club (the MCC) governed it since 1903. As a founding member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), England is a Full Member with Test, One Day International (ODI), and Twenty20 International (T20I) statuses.


In 2003, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) introduced the game's shortest format, Twenty-20, to inter-county competition. It was created to appeal to the younger generation and families by providing fast-paced cricket action.
The inaugural T20 International match between England and New Zealand's women's teams was won by New Zealand by nine runs. England's men's team faced Australia in their first Twenty20 International match in June 2005. England won by 100 runs, scoring 179 runs and dismissing Australia for 79 runs. Kevin Pietersen was named Player of the Match after bowling a quick eighteen-ball 34 and catching three balls.
Under Paul Collingwood, the England T20 World Cup captain, the team won their first ICC global title in 2010, defeating Australia in the ICC World Twenty20 final.
The tight bowling of Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad limited Australia to 147 runs, and English batsmen, particularly Craig Kieswetter (63 runs off 49 balls) and Kevin Pietersen (47 off 31 balls), were crucial in the successful run chase. For his 248 runs in the competition, Pietersen was named Player of the Series.
England's highest total in T20I games is 241 for 3 against New Zealand in Napier. As England won by 76 runs, Dawid Malan scored a century with a strike rate of over 200, and Eoin Morgan made 91 runs from just 41 balls.
The English team has played 132 Twenty20 International matches, winning 71, losing 59, tying two, and abandoning five. With a winning percentage of more than 60%, they are most successful against Afghanistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and South Africa.
They are tied with India (47.36 per cent wins) and Australia (47.36 per cent wins), but they have lost the most games to the T20 World Champions, the West Indies. Fantasy Cricket players know it well.

Likely Player Squad for the England T20 Team

The 16-member England National Cricket Team squad for the T20 Internationals series against the West Indies National Cricket Team, beginning January 2022, has been announced.
The team members of the England T20 Team are:
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Saqib Mahmood
  • Tymal Mills
  • David Payne
  • Adil Rashid
  • Jason Roy
  • Phil Salt
  • Reece Topley
  • James Vince
  • Moeen Ali
  • Sam Billings
  • Liam Dawson
  • George Garton
  • Tom Banton
  • Chris Jordan
  • Liam Livingstone
For the five-match T20 Internationals series against the West Indies, Eoin Morgan will be the captain, Marcus Trescothick will be the assistant coach, and Paul Collingwood will be the stand-in head coach.

Previous coaches and captains

In 2005, Michael Vaughan captained England in their first-ever T20 international against Australia. England amassed a massive 179-run total in that game, while Australia was bowled out for just 79 runs. So far, ten captains have led the England National Team, with Eoin Morgan being their most successful T20 captain.
In his one-day international career, he has led England in 120 matches. England has won 71 of these games, with almost 64.60 per cent wins.

The list of previous England T20 World Cup Captains include:

  • Michael Vaughan
  • Andrew Strauss
  • Paul Collingwood
  • Alastair Cook
  • Stuart Broad
  • Graeme Swann
  • Eoin Morgan
  • James Tredwell
  • Jos Buttler
  • Moeen Ali

Most successful England T20 World Cup Captains

These are some of the most successful captains of the T20 world cup:

  1. Eoin Morgan:
    Eoin Morgan is the most successfol captain in England's history. His performance in one-day cricket internationals (OD Is) does imply it. Holding Morgan’s hands, the English cricket team saw their first-ever fifty-over World Cup victory after defeating New Zealand in the 2019 ICC World Cup finals.
    Morgan has played in 120 One-Day Internationals for England so far in his international career. England has won 72 of these games and lost 39 of them.
  2. Michael Vaughan:
    Michael Vaughan is also English cricket's most successful captain. He has steered the England cricket team to several significant victories. In Vaughan's cricket career, 2005 has to be his best year.
    The 2005 Ashes series is widely considered the best in the rivalry's history. After 16 long years, he headed his team to reclaim the Ashes. In 51 Test matches, he captained England to 26 victories and 32 in sixty One-Day Internationals.
  3. Sir Len Hutton:
    When it comes to captains of England cricket teams, Sir Len Hutton is a household name. In 21 Tests, he led the side admirably. His man-management abilities were outstanding. Furthermore, one of the most rewarding moments was making England a winning team in consecutive Test series against Australia, both at home and away.
  4. Nasser Hussain:
    Former England captain Nasser Hussain took over the captaincy from Alec Stewart in the summer of 1999. England was in the midst of a turbulent period at the time. After a string of poor results over the next few years, England was demoted to ninth place in the ICC Test rankings.
    Nasser's astute cricketing mind and outstanding leadership turned the England team's fortunes around. They won four consecutive Test series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka, and Hussain assisted in winning 17 of them. England won 28 games and lost 27 in twenty-five One-Day Internationals.
  5. Performance in the past T20 World Cup
    The English cricket team won the 2010 West Indies tournament by a comfortable seven-wicket margin over Australia.
    Both the 2012 and 2014 editions, which Sri Lanka and Bangladesh hosted, failed to reach the semi-final round. Following back-to-back disappointing seasons, England won their first T20 World Cup in 2016. The team, however, finished second in the tournament after losing to the West Indies in the final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.
    Stats to remember from the T20 World Cup
    • Champions in 2010 ICC men's t20 world cup and runner-up in 2016.
    • In the world T20 rankings as of March 2020, they are ranked third.

    Likely predictions for 2022 T20 World Cup

    England T20 World Cup captain, Eoin Morgan, believes that building his team's bench strength during their five-match T20 series against the West Indies is more important than winning the series outright. But he hopes that the team environment fostered in recent years will allow the results to take care of themselves.
    To know more on England fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.