dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

West Indies T20 World Cup Team For 2022

The ICC T20 World Cup will be hosted in Australia and is scheduled for October 2022. The West Indies is one of the participating cricket teams in the World Cup. The West Indies cricket team, also called ‘The Windies’ or ‘The West Indies’ represents the British West Indies, a sporting confederation of 12 English-speaking Caribbean countries and British dependencies. Their first match is tentatively held on 17th October against Scotland. The team has several great players and is determined to win this World Cup.


The T20 World Cup West Indies Team is a multinational team representing English-speaking countries and territories in the Caribbean region. Cricket West Indies oversees the West Indies National Cricket Team's activities.
The West Indies joined the Imperial Cricket Conference (now the International Cricket Council or ICC) as full members like India and New Zealand on the same day. In 1929, they played England in their first Test match at Lord's Cricket Ground.
Between the 1970s and the early 1990s, the stats showed that the West Indies team was unbeatable and ruled the cricketing world. West Indies won the first World Cup in 1975. The team was arguably the most aggressive cricket team globally at the time. They made history when they won the 1979 World Cup, becoming the first team to win two World Cups in a row.
West Indies could have made it three World Cups in a row had it not lost to India in the 1983 World Cup final. Nevertheless, the West Indies have produced some big names in Cricket over the years. Sir Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs, George Headley, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle, Sir Clive Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Alvin Kalicharan, Sir Andy Roberts, and many others have been inducted into the ICC World Hall of Fame.
Aside from the 50-over World Cup, the West Indies team won the ICC Men T20 World Cup twice (in 2012 and 2016), the ICC Champions Trophy once (in 2004), the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup (in 2016), as well as finishing second in the Cricket World Cup (1983), the Under 19 Cricket World Cup (2004), and the ICC Champions Trophy once (2004).

Likely West Indies T20 World Cup Squad

The expected West Indies Squad for T20 World Cup is as follows:
  • Kieron Pollard (Captain)
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Roston Chase
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Chris Gayle
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Obed McCoy
  • Evin Lewis
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Andre Russell
  • Lendl Simmons
  • Hayden Walsh Jr.
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Ravi Rampaul
  • Jason Holder
  • Darren Bravo
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Akeal Hosein

Previous Coaches and Captains

Darren Sammy is the most successful West Indies T20 World Cup captain in the team's history. In 2012 and 2016, he led the team to the two World Cup titles. Sammy also led the West Indies to 47 victories. The team was successful on 27 occasions while losing on 17.
Other players who served as West Indies T20 World Cup Captains include:
  • Shivnarine Chanderpaul
  • Chris Gayle
  • Ramnaresh Sarwan
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Denesh Ramdin
  • Floyd Reifer
  • Darren Sammy
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Jason Mohammed
  • Jason Holder
  • Kieron Pollard
Clive Lloyd is widely regarded as the most successful cricketer in the history of the West Indies. During the 1970s and early 1980s, he led the widely-considered-invincible team. West Indies won the inaugural ICC 50-over World Cup in 1975, led by Lloyd. After winning their second World Cup title in a row in 1979, they repeated the feat. They could have made it three in a row if they hadn't lost the 1983 World Cup final to India.
Daren Sammy is regarded as one of the greatest white ball captains in West Indies cricket history. He was the first player from the confederation island of St Lucia to play international cricket. He holds the distinction of being the only captain in history to win two T20 World Cups. In 2012, Sammy led the West Indies to their first T20 World Cup title, which they repeated in 2016, defeating England in the final. Darren Sammy captained the West Indies in 47 Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket and 51 one-day internationals, winning 27 and 19 games.
Viv Richards is arguably the best West Indian batsman of all time. He was a star, aggressive, and brutal. Richards had the charisma to leave everyone in awe. In international cricket, he scored many runs and captained the team in 50 Tests and 105 one-day internationals. He led the West Indies to 27 Test victories and 67 One-Day International victories.

Performance in the past T20 World Cup

The Windies have struggled to get going in difficult batting conditions, with which they’re unfamiliar. In their first match, England thrashed for 55 runs before being held to 143 against South Africa in the second. As a result, West Indies is now at the bottom of the points table with a terrible run rate after neither score could be defended.
According to Clive Lloyd, the team's desire to win is currently lacking, and after winning two of the previous three World Cups, the team has become complacent. Lloyd also wants his team to focus on the fundamentals and keep things simple.

Likely predictions for 2022 T20 World Cup

West Indies is expected to win both of their remaining matches by a large margin and have a chance of reaching the semi-finals. If they do so, they will likely win the semi-finals and the World Cup 2022.
To know more on West Indies fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.