dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

About Chennai Super Kings IPL Team:

Chennai Super Kings is arguably the most consistent IPL team. They are the only team to have made the playoffs 11 times in IPL history. Chennai Super Kings hold the IPL record for reaching the finals most number (9) of times. They are second (4) to just the Mumbai Indians (5) to win the IPL titles.
The India Cements Ltd company owns the Chennai Super Kings team. The owners bought the Chennai IPL team for INR 382 crores in 2008. The Chennai Super Kings bought their Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the first-ever mega auctions. He was the costliest player (INR 6 crores) picked in the auctions in 2008. As a result, Chennai is the only IPL team to have the same captain for all seasons to date.
CSK won its first IPL title in 2010. They followed it up with another title in 2011, becoming the first side to defend their IPL championship. They made it to the IPL finals in 2012, 2013, and 2015 but fell short. As a result, they were not part of the IPL for two years (2016-17).
Chennai Super Kings made a roaring comeback in the 2018 IPL. They won their third IPL title that season. CSK made it to the finals in 2019 but lost out narrowly. They failed to qualify for the playoffs in the 2020 IPL season. It was the first time in their IPL history that they could not make it to the playoffs. But they went on to win their fourth IPL title in 2021. Chennai will be keen to dominate the next decade of IPL too.

History of Chennai Super Kings IPL Team:

The Chennai Super Kings team generated a lot of buzz when they signed MS Dhoni for a record price. MS Dhoni has remained CSK’s captain right from the first season. CSK is the only team with the same captain across 14 IPL seasons.

The first two seasons (2008-09):

The Chennai Super Kings started the Inaugural IPL season on a bang. They lost out to a spirited Rajasthan Royals side in the finals. But the Chennai team gave a glimpse of what is in store for the future. Chennai made it to the knockouts in 2009. They faltered in the semis, but their consistency throughout was there for everyone to see.

The start of the glory years: (2010-11):

Chennai outplayed Mumbai Indians in an epic final in 2010 to win their maiden IPL title. They repeated the feat in 2011 IPL too. Chennai Super Kings became the first side to win two successive IPL titles. The Chennai Super Kings style became a winning template.

The golden run without a win (2012-15):

CSK became synonymous with playoffs. They qualified for playoffs every time up until 2015. But they strangely failed to add another title to their name. It all came abruptly when Chennai was handed a two-year suspension owing to their principal consultant’s involvement.

The epic comeback and the daddy’s army (2018-19):

Chennai Super Kings retained their core players ahead of the 2018 season. In addition, they invested in experienced players. The Chennai squad was called the daddy’s army. They were mocked for the team they had picked. But in a comeback that was stunning as a fairytale, CSK emerged champions. They were all set to replicate the magic in 2019, too only, to lose the title by a run.

The exception (2020):

It was in 2020 when the cracks started appearing. They finished seventh in the league stage. The Chennai Super Kings failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time.

The ultimate roar (2021):

CSK in 2021 was the team to beat. They defeated Kolkata in the finals to win a record-fourth IPL crown. But, the fans can’t wait for what is in store for the future.

Chennai Super Kings Owner:

The India Cements Ltd company owned the Chennai Super Kings franchise in 2018. N. Srinivasan, the company’s vice-chairman, became the de-facto owner of the Chennai team. The company held the rights to the franchise for the first ten years. Post the controversial two-year suspension, the Supreme Court of India asked the company to transfer its rights to a different entity. This company was called the Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. N. Srinivasan continues to remain CSK’s owner.

Chennai Super Kings Retained Players 2022:

The original eight IPL teams could retain up to 4 players ahead of the 2022 mega auctions. Chennai franchise retained all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja (INR 16 crores) as their first pick. Their second retention was their talismanic skipper, MS Dhoni (INR 12 crores). Next, CSK retained Moeen Ali for INR 8 crores (third retention). Their fourth retention was Ruturaj Gaikwad (INR 6 crores).

Chennai Super Kings Home ground:

The home ground of the Chennai Super Kings is the MA Chidambaram Stadium. It is popularly called the Chepauk. The Chepauk is the oldest stadium (still active) in India, having a seating capacity of 50,000.

Chennai Super Kings Previous coaches and captains:

Year Captain Name Coach Name
2008 Captain: MS Dhoni [16 games] Coach: Kepler Wessels
2009 Captain: MS Dhoni [15 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2010 Captain: MS Dhoni [13 games] | Suresh Raina [3 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2011: Captain: MS Dhoni [16 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2012: Captain: MS Dhoni [19 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2013: Captain: MS Dhoni [18 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2014: Captain: MS Dhoni [16 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2015: Captain: MS Dhoni [17 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2016: Suspended
2017: Suspended
2018: Captain: MS Dhoni [16 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2019: Captain: MS Dhoni [17 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2020: Captain: MS Dhoni [14 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming
2021: Captain: MS Dhoni [16 games] Coach: Stephen Fleming

Top 5 Fantasy players of Chennai Super Kings for IPL 2021 as per Dream11 Fantasy Points:

  • Faf du Plessis
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Moeen Ali
  • Shardul Thakur

Chennai Super Kings Team rankings in each of the past IPL:

  • 2008-Runners-up
  • 2009-Semifinalists (3rd)
  • 2010-Winners
  • 2011-Winners
  • 2012-Runners-up
  • 2013-Runners-up
  • 2014-Qualifiers [Playoffs] (3rd)
  • 2015-Runners-up
  • 2018-Winners
  • 2019-Runners-up
  • 2020-League Stage (7th)
  • 2021-Winners

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.