dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Punjab Kings IPL Fantasy Cricket Team

“Live Punjabi! Play Punjabi!”
Keeping up with their catchphrase, the Punjab Kings (PBKS) had a promising start in the first season of one of the world's most significant cricket leagues, “Indian Premier League” or IPL. The Punjab Kings (PBKS), previously Kings XI Punjab, is a franchise cricket team from Mohali, Punjab, established in 2008.

History of Punjab Kings Team in IPL

Under the captainship of Yuvraj Singh with clinching a berth in the semi-final, Kings XI Punjab had a promising start in the first season of IPL. But after that, KXIP couldn't repeat the heroics of 2008 and failed to reach the playoffs. And since then, they haven’t enjoyed consistent success. Apart from the 2014 season when they finished second in the league, the squad has only made one previous postseason participation in 13 years.
Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is widely regarded as the most underperforming team in the Indian Premier League's history (IPL). Despite being in existence for all 12 seasons, the Punjab franchise is one of only three teams to have never won the league title. Only twice has the Kings XI Punjab team qualified for the knockouts/playoff stage. They've previously finished in the bottom four after finishing in the top four in the first half of the competition. However, they advanced to the final of the 2014 season, where they were defeated in a close game.

Punjab Kings Owner

Mohit Burman of the Dabur group (46%), Ness Wadia of the Wadia group (%), Preity Zinta of the Wadia group (23%), and Saptarshi Dey of the Dey & Dey Group (8%) bought the Punjab squad.
The franchise was purchased for $76 million by the group. Surprisingly, Rajasthan Royals (Rs 268 crore, $67 million) and Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 300 crore, $75.09 million) were the only franchises to sell for less.

Punjab Kings Players 2021 Squad

KL Rahul (Captain) Sarfaraz Khan (Batsman) Mandeep Singh (Batsman)
Mayank Agarwal (Batsman) Aiden Markram (Batsman) Fabian Allen (All-rounder)
Deepak Hooda (All-rounder) Shahrukh Khan (Batsman) Jalaj Saxena (All-rounder)
Nicholas Pooran (Batsman) Moises Henriques (All-rounder) Utkarsh Singh (All-rounder)
Ishan Porel (Bowler) Adil Rashid (Bowler) Arshdeep Singh (Bowler)
Prabhsimran Singh (Batsman) Darshan Nalkande (Bowler) Harpreet Brar (Bowler)
Chris Jordan (Bowler) Nathan Ellis (Bowler) Murugan Ashwin (Bowler)
Mohammed Shami (Bowler) Ravi Bishnoi (Bowler) Saurabh Kumar (Bowler)

Administration and support staff

Punjab Kings Retained players 2022

According to the IPL's rules and regulations, franchisees can keep four players ahead of the next season, two of whom can be overseas cricketers. Punjab Kings have retained two players ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. The franchise retained Indian player Mayank Agarwal and uncapped Arshdeep Singh.
  • Mayank Agarwal (14 cr)
  • Arshdeep Singh (4 cr)

Punjab Kings Home Ground

The team's home matches are held at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. They've also been playing some of their home matches at Dharamsala or Indore since 2010. The Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium in Mohali, Punjab, is a cricket ground locally referred to as the Mohali Stadium. The stadium is home to the Punjab squad, which was built by Geetanshu Kalra of Ambala City. The stadium's construction cost roughly 25 crores and took three years to finish. The stadium can hold a total of 26,950 spectators. Ar. Khizir and Associates designed the stadium, which R.S. Construction Company built in Chandigarh. The Punjab cricket team and the Punjab Kings play at the Inderjit Singh Bindra stadium (IPL franchise).

Punjab Kings previous years coaches and captains

Year Captain Name Coach Name
2008 Yuvraj Singh Tom Moody
2009 Yuvraj Singh Tom Moody
2010 KC Sangakkara and DPMD Jayawardene Tom Moody
2011: Adam Gilchrist Michael Bevan
2012: David Hussey Adam Gilchrist
2013: David Hussey Darren Lehman
2014: George Bailey Sanjay Bangar
2015: Virender Sehwag Sanjay Bangar
2016: David Miller and Murali Vijay Sanjay Bangar
2017: Glenn Maxwell Virender Sehwag
2018: Ravichandran Ashwin Brad Hodge
2019: Ravichandran Ashwin Mike Hesson
2020: KL Rahul Anil Kumble
2021: Mayank Agarwal Anil Kumble

Top 5 fantasy players for Punjab as per Dream11 fantasy points for IPL 2021

Punjab Kings Team ranking in each past IPL

Year Position
2008 3rd
2009 5th
2010 8th
2011: 5th
2012: 6th
2013: 6th
2014: 2nd
2015: 8th
2016: 8th
2017: 5th
2018: 6th
2019: 6th
2020: 6th
2021: 5th

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.