dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

About Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL Team:

Sunrisers Hyderabad is one of the most consistent IPL teams. They made their IPL debut in 2013, taking over the IPL Hyderabad team from Deccan Chargers. They won their first IPL title in 2016. The IPL Sunrisers Hyderabad team then qualified for the playoffs every time, bar 2021. They finished as runners-up in the 2018 IPL season. 2021 was a forgettable season for this team as they finished 8th in the points table. This Hyderabad IPL team will be looking to build a team in the upcoming mega auctions.

History of Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL Team:

The Sunrisers Hyderabad team made their IPL debut in 2013. Kumar Sangakkara was the first captain leading the side for the first 9 games. Then, Cameron White took over and led the remaining 8 games. SRH qualified for the playoffs in the first season. However, they lost out in the eliminator against Rajasthan Royals.
In the 2014 season, Shikhar Dhawan was appointed the captain and Darren Sammy the vice-captain. The Sunrisers Hyderabad finished 6th in the league stage. Much like the 2013 IPL, they had two captains. Dhawan captained the side in the first 10 games, while Darren Sammy led in the remaining 4 games.
Hyderabad IPL team retained 13 players ahead of the 2015 season. They appointed David Warner as their full-time captain. The team again finished 6th in the points table, having won 7 and lost 7. But for the first time in their history, one of their batters (David Warner) won the orange cap for scoring the most runs.

The year that defined their legacy:

2016 was a legacy-defining year for SRH. David Warner, the Sunrisers Hyderabad captain, inspired the side to their maiden IPL title. They registered 11 wins and 6 losses in that season and defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in The IPL finals.
SRH became the first, and to date, the only team to win the title after having played the eliminator. David Warner top-scored with 848 runs and finished 2nd in the batting charts. Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the purple cap picking up 23 wickets in 17 games. He became the first Sunrisers Hyderabad bowler to win the purple cap.

The run of the successive playoffs:

Sunrisers Hyderabad made it to the playoffs once again in 2017. David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the orange and purple caps, respectively. Kumar became the only bowler to have won the purple cap in successive seasons. However, the team lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator.
SRH had to appoint Kane Williamson as their captain in 2018. They were forced to make this decision as David Warner was ruled out owing to IPL suspension. Williamson led the side admirably and took it to the finals. He won the orange cap (735 runs). However, the Sunrisers Hyderabad lost to Chennai Super Kings in the finals.
David Warner returned to the side in 2019. He won the orange cap for the record third time in 2019, but the team lost out in the eliminator against Delhi Capitals that season. Williamson and Kumar captained the side in different stages of the IPL.
In 2020, SRH handed over the captaincy duties back to Warner. He again led the side with aplomb. As a result, SRH made it to the playoffs for the fifth consecutive time. However, they lost out narrowly once again to Delhi Capitals in the 2nd qualifier.

A year to forget:

In the IPL 2021 season, the Sunrisers Hyderabad won just 3 games out of 14 to finish last in the standings. Their season was mired with controversies. Sunrisers axed David Warner from captaincy and dropped him from the playing XI midway during the season. Fans of the Sunrisers are now looking forward to a new future, starting with IPL 2022.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner

The owners of the were late entrants into the IPL. The SUN TV Network replaced Deccan Chargers as the principal owners, having placed the winning bid of INR 85.05 crores/year to acquire the team. One of Asia’s most prominent TV Networks, the SUN TV Network, is owned by Kalanithi Maran. He is one of India’s leading media magnates.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Players 2021 Squad

David Warner Kane Williamson Jonny Bairstow
Manish Pandey Sreevats Goswami Wriddhiman Saha
Priyam Garg Vijay Shankar Abhishek Sharma
Abdul Samad Virat Singh Mitchell Marsh
Jason Holder Mohammad Nabi Rashid Khan
Shahbaz Nadeem Bhuvneshwar Kumar T. Natarajan
Sandeep Sharma Khaleel Ahmed Siddarth Kaul
Basil Thampi Jagadeesha Suchith Kedar Jadhav

Retained Players 2022

Sunrisers Hyderabad had the option to retain up to 4 players ahead of the mega auctions. They could retain a maximum of 3 Indians and 1 overseas player or 2 Indians and 2 overseas players. SRH, to everyone’s surprise, let go of Rashid Khan. They ended up retaining Kane Williamson [INR 14 crores], Abdul Samad [INR 4 crores], and Umran Malik [INR 4 crores]. Sunrisers Hyderabad will look to build the squad around Williamson with the 2 retained uncapped players.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Home Ground:

The Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium is the home ground of Sunrisers Hyderabad. The stadium is managed by the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA). It has a seating capacity of 55,000

Sunrisers Hyderabad Previous Coaches and Captains:

Top 5 players of Sunrisers Hyderabad as per Dream11 IPL 2021:

  • Rashid Khan
  • Jason Holder
  • Manish Pandey
  • Kane Williamson
  • Jonny Bairstow

Sunrisers Hyderabad Team rankings in each of the past IPL:

  • 2013-Eliminator [Playoffs] (4th)
  • 2014-League Stage (6th)
  • 2015-League Stage (6th)
  • 2016-Winners
  • 2017-Eliminator [Playoffs] (4th)
  • 2018-Runners-up
  • 2019-Eliminator [Playoffs] (4th)
  • 2020-Qualifiers [Playoffs] (3rd)

SRH's Journey and What the Future Holds:

The Sunrisers Hyderabad team have been one of the most consistent outfits in the IPL. They had a slightly disappointing season last year, but they will look to put it behind them heading into this season. A year that promises so much not just in terms of the new players being added but in terms of the outlook that the team embraces. The journey for SRH from hereon will be to achieve ascendancy in the league. The Hyderabad IPL team cannot wait for IPL 2022 to begin!

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.