dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Kolkata Knight Riders IPL team

The Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the original eight teams of the IPL (Indian Premier League), which began in 2008. Unlike other teams such as Sunrisers Hyderabad (formerly Deccan Chargers) and Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils), this team has not undergone significant changes in either rebranding or ownership.

IPL Kolkata Overall Team Record

The Kolkata team has played in all 16 editions of the IPL; they never faced any ban like the Chennai and Rajasthan teams. They won the IPL title twice—in 2012 and 2014—and leaped from the bottom to reach the IPL final in 2021, which they eventually lost to Chennai Super Kings.
Kolkata Knight Riders have a mixed IPL record. Between 2008-2023, Kolkata has played 241 matches. Out of which, it has won 106 and lost 97; 4 matches were washed out due to rain. Unfortunately, Kolkata does not have an excellent record in tied games. They have lost 3 out of 4 such matches. They have an overall win rate of 50.63% in the IPL. The 2022 season was the 15th season for the Indian Premier League franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). They were one of the ten teams that competed in the 2022 Indian Premier League. Come IPL 2023, KKR faced challenges, marked by a squad hampered by injuries and the absence of their captain, Shreyas Iyer. Throughout the tournament, KKR navigated hurdles with resilience. With 6 wins in 14 matches, Kolkata Knight Riders finished IPL 2023 with 12 points in 7th position. Two times, Indian Premier League champions have struggled to find the right balance in their injured squad in the 2023 season.
In the IPL, Kolkata has a great winning record against teams such as Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Kolkata Knight Riders Owners

The Kolkata Knight Riders owners are Red Chillies Entertainment (Shah Rukh Khan) and the Mehta Group (Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta).

KKR Team Players 2024

Nitish Rana Ankul Roy Suyash Sharma
Rinku Singh Ramandeep Singh Mujeeb Ur Rahman
Rahmanullah Gurbaaz Andre Russell Gus Atkinson
Shreyas Iyer Venkatesh Iyer Sakib Hussain
Sherfane Rutherford Harshit Rana
KS Bharat Sunil Narine
Manish Pandey Vaibhav Arora
Jason Ray Varun Chakravarthy
Angkrish Raghuvansh Mitchell Starc
Chetan Sakariya

Fantasy combinations in IPL in 2024

Kolkata vs. Bangalore Kolkata vs. Chennai Kolkata vs. Mumbai
Kolkata vs. Punjab Kolkata vs. Delhi Kolkata vs. Rajasthan
Kolkata vs. Hyderabad Kolkata vs. Lucknow Kolkata vs. Ahmedabad

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players for 2024

Kolkata has retained Shreyas Iyer (C), Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Jason Roy, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer for the forthcoming edition of the IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders Home Ground

Kolkata’s home ground is the iconic Eden Gardens stadium, one of the most renowned in the world. It has a seating capacity of 68,000 people.

Kolkata Knight Riders Captains and Coaches

Kolkata Knight Riders team was captained by Sourav Ganguly in 2008 and 2010, with Brendon Mccullum being at the helm in 2009. Between 2011-2017, their captain was Gautam Gambhir. Dinesh Karthik led them between 2018-2020, and Eoin Morgan took over the reins in 2021. In 2022, Shreyas Iyer became the captain. However, due to an injury he missed IPL 2023 and Nitish Rana became the captain. In 2024, Shreyas is back as captain of KKR.
Their current head coach is Chandrakant Pandit Their bowling coach is Bharat Arun whom Omkar Salvi assists. Ryan Ten Doeschate is their current fielding coach.

Kolkata Knight Riders' last year's performance

One positive they got from the IPL 2023 is Rinku Singh. The left-hand batter has already earned the superstar tag from Kolkata fans after his consistency and superb finishes in a few games.
Kolkata Knight Riders have finished 7th in the points table. Along with captain Shreyas Iyer, pace bowlers Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson were either sitting out or injured this season. With limited pace bowling options, Kolkata tried to go with new and upcoming faces in pace bowling. Their experienced Indian pacer, Umesh Yadav, played only 8 games and was injured afterward. KKR had a struggling batting order as well. No one apart from Rinku Singh was consistent enough to win games for KKR. Shakib al Hasan and Litton Das skipped the tournament, citing personal reasons and national duty. This has been a learning season for Kolkata Knight Riders. They might look more aggressive in the next auction and build their strategies accordingly.

Top 5 Fantasy Players from KKR for IPL 2024 as per Dream11 Fantasy Points.

  • Sunil Narine
  • Venkatesh Iyer
  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Andre Russel

Kolkata Knight Riders Players

There have been plenty of changes in the Kolkata Knight Riders, thanks to auctions for new players and changes to the team setup. Here are some of the key players in the Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2024:

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.