dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Mumbai Indians IPL Fantasy Cricket Team

With the motto, "Duniya Hila Denge Hum!"Mumbai Indians, a franchise cricket team, owned by India's player corporation- Reliance, has come a long way in the Indian Premier League which is currently one of the most significant cricket leagues in the world. The Mumbai Indians franchise of the IPL is easily among the top franchises, brand-wise and it is the first team to surpass $100 million in value. How many times have Mumbai Indians won Ipl you ask? - The answer is a whopping 5 times!

History of Mumbai Indians Team in IPL

After defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs, MI Indians won the 2011 Indian Premier League. The club completed the double by winning its maiden IPL title in 2013, defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final and then defeating Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs in the following year. In 2015, they were the 3rd team to win more than one Indian Premier League series trophy. On May 24th, they defeated the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the finals. They became the 1st team in Indian Premier League history to win three titles by beating Rising Pune Supergiants on May 21st, 2017. This made Mumbai the first team to win 100 matches in the tournament.
They replicated history by winning a record-breaking fourth Indian Premier League trophy by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the IPL Final on May 12th, 2019, by just one run. In the IPL Final, held on Sunday, November 10th, Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets and became only the second team to win the trophy.

Mumbai Indians Owner

In September 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the formation of the Indian Premier League (IPL), a Twenty20 competition in 2008. In October 2007, BCCI announced that a further franchise would be hosted in Hyderabad. This was sold in January 2008 to Jagir Ehsan Lakhani and Rajeev Shukla's company, Elgen Management Private Limited, for $111.9 mn .When it became apparent that Reliance Industries had sold the Mumbai team for $111.9 million, which was considered then to be the costliest IPL 2021 franchise, it was purchased for ten years by RIL, which Mukesh Ambani owns.

Mumbai Indians Players 2021 Squad

Mumbai's star-studded line-up which has included Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya initially created a name for themselves in 2010 when they came in second. They bolstered their core over the next two years by signing Rohit Sharma, Zaheer Khan, and Kieron Pollard from South Africa. Their current captain is Rohit Sharma, and their 2021 squad was:
Rohit Sharma (Captain) Anmolpreet Singh (Batsman) Trent Boult (Bowler)
Jasprit Bumrah (Bowler) Rahul Chahar (Bowler) Piyush Chawla (All-rounder)
Nathan Coulter-Nile (All-rounder) Quinton de Kock (Batsman) Ishan Kishan (Batsman)
Marco Jansen (All-rounder) Roosh Kalaria (Bowler) Dhawal Kulkarni (Bowler)
Chris Lynn (Batsman) Adam Milne (Bowler) James Neesham (All-rounder)
Hardik Pandya (All-rounder) Krunal Pandya (All-rounder) Kieron Pollard (All-rounder)
Anukul Roy (All-rounder) Simarjeet Singh (All-rounder) Aditya Tare (Wicket-Keeper)
Saurabh Tiwary (Batsman) Jayant Yadav (Bowler) Suryakumar Yadav (Batsman)
Yudhvir Singh (Bowler)

Mumbai Indians Retained players 2022

According to the IPL's rules and regulations, franchises can keep four players ahead of the next season, two of whom can be overseas cricketers. Mumbai Indians' skippers Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard and Suryakumar Yadav have been retained for the IPL 2022 season.
  • Rohit Sharma (16 cr)
  • Suryakumar Yadav (8 cr)
  • Jasprit Bumrah (12 cr)
  • Kieron Pollard (6 cr)

Mumbai Indians Home Ground

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India, is an international cricket stadium. Following improvements for the 2011 Cricket World Cup, the stadium presently has a seating capacity of 33,108. The initial capacity was around 45,000 before the refurbishment. The stadium hosted the 2011 Cricket World Cup final, in which India defeated Sri Lanka to become the first country to win the tournament on home soil. It also hosted many matches during the Cricket World Cups in 1996 and 2011. The stadium was also the site of a game in which Ravi Shastri struck six sixes in a single over.

Mumbai Indians previous years’ coaches and captains

Year Coach Name Captain Name
2008 Lalchand Rajput Sachin Tendulkar
2009 Shaun Pollock Sachin Tendulkar
2010 Robin Singh Sachin Tendulkar
2011: Robin Singh Sachin Tendulkar
2012: Robin Singh Harbhajan Singh
2013: John Wright Rohit Sharma
2014: John Wright Rohit Sharma
2015: Ricky Pontingt Rohit Sharma
2016: Ricky Pontingt Rohit Sharma
2017: Mahela Jayawardene Rohit Sharma
2018: Mahela Jayawardene Rohit Sharma
2019: Mahela Jayawardene Rohit Sharma
2020: Mahela Jayawardene Rohit Sharma
2021: Mahela Jayawardene Rohit Sharma

Top Fantasy Players (as per Dream11 Fantasy points) for Mumbai Indians

  1. Jasprit Bumrah- He is a brilliant fast bowler and is currently rated as the best bowler in the Indian Premier League.
  2. Kieron Pollard- He is the captain of the West Indies cricket team. Kieron is very famous for his batting technique.
  3. Rohit Sharma- He has been the captain since 2013. With his tremendous experience in captaincy, there is no doubt that he will lead Mumbai Indians next match in upcoming years as well.
  4. Suryakumar Yadav- He is a fantastic player who kept the balance in Mumbai Indians ipl wins. He is no doubt a very important player in the IPL matches for the Mumbai team.
  5. Trent Boult- He is a talented bowler. The opposition camp often experiences mayhem because of his ability to swing the ball and bowl straight lines. There is no doubt that he will showcase his talent in the upcoming IPL matches.

Mumbai Indians Team Ranking in Each IPL

Mumbai Indians have 5 IPL titles to their credit. Mumbai Indians is the most successful IPL team ever. No wonder MI match is a treat to watch.
Year Position in Points Table Summary
2008 5th Group Stage
2009 7th Group Stage
2010 1st Runners-Up
2011: 3rd Play-offs
2012: 3rd Play-offs
2013: 2nd Champions
2014: 4th Play-offs
2015: 2nd Champions
2016: 5th Group Stage
2017: 1st Champions
2018: 5th Group Stage
2019: 1st Champions
2020: 1st Champions
2021: 5th Play-offs

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.