dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Rajasthan Royals IPL Fantasy Cricket Team

History of Rajasthan Royals Team In IPL

Rajasthan Royals is a cricket franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Founded in 2008, this franchise was extremely low-profile and least expensive among all eight franchises. They lifted the champions’ trophy in the very first season under the captaincy of Shane Warne.
In the Tata IPL 2022 season, under the captaincy of Sanju Samson, Rajasthan Royals managed to reach the final but unfortunately lost twice to Gujarat Titans within the space of six days, first in Qualifier 1 and then in the final to finish as runners-up. Despite this setback, Rajasthan Royals entered the 2023 season with optimism, aiming to replicate their success or even clinch the title. Initially, their performance was commendable, securing four wins out of five matches. However, a loss to the Lucknow Super Giants marked a turning point, leading to a decline in their form and denting their morale. Unfortunately, Rajasthan Royals ended IPL 2023 in fifth place. Their fans are eager to see them lift the trophy in the upcoming season.

Rajasthan Royals Owner

As of 2024, Rajasthan Royals is primarily owned by the Royals Sports Group (Emerging Media Sporting Holdings Limited), led by Manoj Badale, who holds a 65% stake. Other significant minority stakeholders include RedBird Capital Partners (15%) and Lachlan Murdoch 13%). Previously, the team was managed by multiple owners, including Amisha Hathiramani, who held a stake of 44.2%, and Lachlan Murdoch and Shane Warne, with 11.7% share, respectively.

Rajasthan Royals Players 2021 Squad

Here is the list of players playing for Rajasthan Royals in 2024:
Sanju Samson (C) & (wk) Jos Buttler (wk)
Dhruv Jurel (Wk) Kunal Singh Rathore (Wk) Yashasvi Jaiswal (Batsman)
Shimron Hetmyer (Batsman) Riyan Parag (Batsman) Shubham Dubey (Batsman)
Donovan Ferreira (All-rounder) Rovman Powell (All-rounder) Abid Mushtaq (Bowler)
Adam Zampa (Bowler) Avesh Khan (Bowler) Kuldeep Sen (Bowler)
Nandre Burger (Bowler) Navdeep Saini (Bowler) Prasidh Krishna (Bowler)
Ravichandran Ashwin (Bowler) Sandeep Sharma (Bowler) Trent Boult (Bowler)
Yuzi Chahal (Bowler)

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players 2024

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) have released 9 players, including international stars Joe Root and Jason Holder. Additionally, they have traded Devdutt Padikkal in exchange for Avesh Khan from the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). With a limited budget of 15 crores INR for the mega auction, the Royals have worked hard to create a well-balanced squad for the upcoming 2024 season.
Rajasthan Royals Retained Players: Sanju Samson (c), Jos Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Sen, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Avesh Khan.
Rajasthan Royals Released Players: Joe Root, Abdul Basith, Jason Holder, Akash Vashisht, Kuldip Yadav, Obed McCoy, Murugan Ashwin, KC Cariappa, KM Asif.

Rajasthan Royals Home Ground

The home ground of Rajasthan Royals is Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur. This stadium, handled by the Rajasthan Cricket Association, seats 30,000 and is one of the finest in India. You can see RCA cricket academy, conference rooms, a gym with around 30 appointed rooms, a swimming pool, and a restaurant in the stadium. In both the 2020 and 2021 IPL seasons, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, all the teams were forced to play in the UAE, where they played at Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi), Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai), and Sharjah Stadium in a bio-bubble environment.

Rajasthan Royals Previous Coaches and Captains

Year Coach Captain
2008 Shane Warne Shane Warne
2009 Shane Warne Shane Warne
2010 Shane Warne Shane Warne
2011 Shane Warne Shane Warne
2012 Shane Warne Rahul Dravid
2013 Paddy Upton Rahul Dravid
2014 Paddy Upton Shane Watson
2015 Paddy Upton Shane Watson
2018 Paddy Upton Ajinkya Rahane
2019 Paddy Upton Steve Smith
2020 Andrew McDonald Steve Smith
2021 Trevor Penney Sanju Samson
2022 Kumar Sangakkara Sanju Samson
2023 Kumar Sangakkara Sanju Samson
2024 Kumar Sangakkara Sanju Samson

Best Players Of Rajasthan Royals For Fantasy Cricket based on IPL 2023

Rajasthan Royals Team Ranking In Past Years

In the first season of IPL, Rajasthan Royals won the title under the captaincy of veteran Aussie Shane Warne. After a five-year hiatus from the playoffs, they finally made a comeback in 2013, securing the title they had previously won in 2008. Subsequently, they made it to the first half of the pointer’s table again in 2015 and 2018. After another three-year dry spell, they resurged with the same determination as in their inaugural year, ultimately finishing as the runners-up in the IPL 2022 and losing the finals to the Gujarat Titans. Here, we have listed the position in the points table of this franchise year-wise-
Year Position In Points Table
2008 Winner
2009 6th
2010 7th
2011 6th
2012 7th
2013 3rd
2014 5th
2015 4th
2018 4th
2019 7th
2020 8th
2021 7th
2022 2nd
2023 5th

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.