dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL Fantasy Cricket Team

The Royal Challengers Bangalore is one of the most popular franchises of the Indian Premier League and has seen its ups and downs over the years. Here are the details about the team for the upcoming season, which can benefit you while making your own fantasy team.
RCB or Royal Challengers Bangalore stands out as one of the most popular teams in the IPL. It garners immense attention on social media, with fans generating plenty of memes centered around the franchise. But, unfortunately for RC fans, the team is yet to win a title despite playing finals three times (2009, 2011, and 2016). Despite world-class players holding records in IPL history, RCB has ended up being in the bottom half of the points table 9 out of 16 times.
Owned by United Spirits, a subsidiary of Diageo Group, RCB has a strong fan base in Bangalore. The team's home ground is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (previously known as the Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium) in Bangalore.
Over the years, the Bangalore IPL team has set the bar high for future players; 23 of the top 5 individual highest scores in IPL history were bagged by RCB, with Chris Gayle being on the top (175*) and AB de Villiers being the fourth and sixth (133* and 129*). Former skipper Virat Kohli is also the highest all-time run-scorer in IPL history. He is the only one who has played for RCB since the team's inception.

RCB coaches:

Over the years, RCB has tested a variety of coaches. Sanjay Bangar, the former Indian cricketer and batting coach of the Indian Cricket Team, has held the position since 2022. Prior to Bangar, Australian cricketer Simon Katich served as the coach from (2020-2021.), Other renowned and accomplished cricketers who have coached RCB include, Gary Kirsten (2019), Daniel Vettori ( 2014-2018), Ray Jennings (2009-2013) and Venkatesh Prasad (2008). Adam Griffith, former Australian domestic player, will continue as the bowling coach for RCB for the fifth consecutive season. This upcoming IPL 2024 season will also mark Sridharan Sriram's fifth consecutive season overseeing the dual coaching roles as the batting and spin bowling coach of RCB.

RCB captains:

Royal Challengers Bangalore is blessed with some of the most prominent cricketers as team captains. The list includes Rahul Dravid (2008), Anil Kumble (2009-2010), Daniel Vettori (2011-2012), and Virat Kohli (2013-2021). Following Virat Kohli's decision to step down after IPL 2022 to focus on his batting, Faf Du Plessis assumed the role of captain for Royal Challengers Bangalore. This marks Faf Du Plessis’s third year leading the team and continuing the legacy of esteemed captains for the franchise.

Royal Challengers Bangalore 2024 Players:

Once again, the Royal Challengers Bangalore couldn't make it to the playoffs in the Indian Premier League. They finished 6th in the IPL 2023 points table after losing to Gujarat Titans. The RCB players began the season well but couldn't keep up the momentum. Faf du Plessis, Virat Kohli, and Glenn Maxwell were the main scorers for the team, but the rest of the batting lineup couldn't step up when needed. Except for Mohammed Siraj, none of the other bowlers seemed to be in good form. Injuries to key players like Rajat Patidar, Will Jacks, Reece Topley, and Josh Hazlewood added to their challenges. Despite the setbacks, the team had its moments in IPL 2023. Looking ahead, there's hope that RCB will learn from their past performance and strive to make their fans proud in the upcoming season.

The squad includes:

Faf du Plessis (c) Anuj Rawat (Batter) Saurav Chauhan (Batter)
Virat Kohli (Batter) Dinesh Karthik (Batter) Rajat Patidar (Batter)
Akash Deep (All rounder) Manoj Bhandage (All rounder) Tom Curran (All rounder)
Cameron Green (All rounder) Will Jacks (All rounder) Mahipal Lomror (All rounder)
Glenn Maxwell (All rounder) Suyash Prabhudessai (All rounder) Mayank Dagar (Bowler)
Lockie Ferguson (Bowler) Alzarri Joseph (Bowler) Mohammed Siraj (Bowler)
Rajan Kumar (Bowler) Himanshu Sharma (Bowler) Karn Sharma (Bowler)
Swapnil Singh (Bowler) Reece Topley (Bowler) Vijaykumar Vyshak (Bowler)
Yash Dayal (Bowler)

RCB 2024 retained players:

In the upcoming 2024 Season, RCB has made some smart moves by signing Tom Curran from England and Lockie Ferguson from New Zealand for a great deal at 1.5 crores and 2 crores, respectively. They also engaged in a bidding war to get Yash Dayal for ₹5 crore. RCB also picked up two Indian players Swapnil Singh and Saurav Chauhan at their base prices of 20 lakh each. There's a lot of excitement around the younger players, with hopes high for their performance in the upcoming matches.
Additionally, they invested 11.5 crores to acquire West Indies international Alzarri Joseph, who is expected to perform in the upcoming matches.

Here's the complete list of retained players:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Mohammed Siraj, Cam Green, Will Jacks, Suyash Prabhudessai, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Reece Topley, Manoj Bhandage, Mayank Dagar, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Akash Deep, Himanshu Sharma, and Rajan Kumar

Best players for RCB for fantasy cricket:

While RCB is a team with globally acclaimed great players, it is also the team where youngsters surprise the fans with their outstanding performances. Hence below are the top fantasy players for RCB; it is vital to note that they are calculated as per Dream11 Fantasy points for the year 2021.
Hence, while making a fantasy team in the coming season, these players must be considered.
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Virat Kohli
  • Yuzvendra Chaha
  • Mohammed

Royal Challengers Bangalore - Past performances

As mentioned above, the team has seen both bottoms of the ranks and played in the finals many times but has never won a cup yet. This makes it one of the most followed teams in IPL with their world-class players. The Bangalore fanbase is dying to see a title in the league. In all, RCB has played 242 matches, out of which it won 114 times, lost 120 times and three games ended up without any single outcome, taking its winning rate to 47.11%.
Year Total Wins Losses No result Tied and won Tied and lost Position Summary
2008 14 4 10 0 0 0 7th Group Stage
2009 16 9 7 0 0 0 2nd Runners-Up
2010 16 8 8 0 0 0 3rd Play-offs
2011: 16 10 5 1 0 0 2nd Runners-Up
2012: 16 8 7 1 0 0 5th Group Stage
2013: 16 8 6 0 1 1 5th Group Stage
2014: 14 5 9 0 0 0 7th Group Stage
2015: 16 8 6 2 0 0 3rd Play-offs
2016: 16 9 7 0 0 0 2nd Runners-Up
2017: 14 3 11 1 0 0 8th Group Stage
2018: 14 6 8 0 0 0 6th Group Stage
2019: 14 5 8 1 0 0 8th Group Stage
2020: 15 6 8 0 1 0 4th Play-offs
2021: 15 9 6 0 0 0 4th Play-offs
2022: 14 8 6 0 0 0 4th Play-offs
2023: 14 7 7 0 0 0 6th Group-Stage
The RCB team has seen its ups and downs, and the fans have always been with them, win or lose; the team has never failed to entertain cricket and IPL enthusiasts in India and all around the world.

Play online and win on Dream11

Dream11 is India's largest Fantasy Sports app with over 20 crore players. It lets users create a team of real players for upcoming sports matches and compete with others for big prizes.

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.