dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians [What to watch out for in IPL 2022]

CSK vs MI is one of the most awaited IPL matches. And this season promises another enthralling match. If you are a hardcore fan and want to know, how this clash would shape up in 2022, then this is the place to be.
Want to join the action for TATA IPL League? Play on Dream11 and make your IPL fantasy cricket team.

Introduction of Chennai Super Kings

India Cements purchased the CSK franchise in 2008 when the Indian Premier League came into existence. The ownership later shifted to Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. in 2015. The team got immense love from their fans as it was studded with the world's finest cricketers, including MS Dhoni, Muralitharan, Stephen Fleming, Michael Hussey, etc.
The team finally won the IPL 2010 and qualified for the Champions League after continuous practice of 2 years. Both national and international players who excel in different areas of cricket got associated with the team.
In these 13 years, the team brought the IPL trophy home four times in 2010, 2011, 2018. Their last win was in 2021 under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
Currently, the team is led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a former international cricketer who captained India. For the entire session, Kepler Wessels was the coach of the team.

Here is the list of players in MI:

MS Dhoni Ruturaj Gaikwad Ravindra Jadeja
Suresh Raina Faf Du Plessis Moeen Ali
Sam Curran Dwayne Bravo Deepak Chahar
Robin Uthappa Ambati Rayudu Cheteshwar Pujara
Dominic Drakes Imran Tahir Mitchell Santer
Krishnappa Gowtham Lungi Ngidi Narayan Jagadeesan
KM Asif Karn Sharma Jason Behrendorff
Harishankar Reddy Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore C Hari Nishanth
Bhagath Varma

Introduction of Mumbai Indians

MI are one the most popular cricket teams of all time. Based out of Mumbai, the team debuted in the Indian Premier League in 2008. MI is owned by one of India's most prominent business tycoons, Mukesh Ambai, and his wife, Neeta Ambani. Although the team struggled in its initial years (2008-2009), it evolved as one of the strongest teams over time. Since its inception, the team has won the IPL trophy five times. MI's recent victory was in the year 2020 under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.
Rohit Sharma, a right-handed batsman and an occasional right-arm off-break bowler, is the captain of MI.

Here is the list of players in MI:

Rohit Sharma Suryakumar Yadav Quinton de Kock
Kieron Pollard Ishan Kishan Krunal Pandya
Hardik Pandya Saurabh Tiwary Chris Lynn
Jayant Yadav Jasprit Bumrah Trent Boult
Rahul Chahar Nathan Coulter-Nile Krunal Pandya
James Neesham Adam Milne Jayant Yadav
Marco Jansen

Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians in IPL 2022

Two of the strongest teams of IPL, Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians, will head to head in the 2022 IPL. MI has constantly emerged as one of the best teams of IPL; however, CSK is nowhere less. Both the teams are stacked with international stars and feature the most polished cricketers of all time.
Looking at the records, both the teams have evolved drastically in their strategies, players, and tactics to win the match. As a result, CSK is a four-time IPL winner, whereas MI is a five-time IPL winner.
Here fans are excited to see what is stored for them in IPL 2022, whether CSK or MI will bring the trophy home.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!

Past performance of Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

If you're an Indian, your love for cricket must be unparalleled. On the one hand, where MI are evolving as the country's best team, the nation loves CSK. Both the teams are star-studded with some of the best cricketers of the century.
In the past years, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have played 32 matches against each other. 19 were won by MI, whereas 13 were by CSK.
With Chennai having a slight upper hand over their competitors, the fans are excited to witness this fantastic match between the leading teams.

Here is the csk vs mi scorecard

Year Tournament Venue Winner Margin MoM
2021 2021 IPL Dubai CSK 20 runs Ruturaj Gaikwad - CSK- 88*(58)
2021 2021 IPL Delhi MI 4 Wickets Keiron Pollard - MI - 87(34)
2020 2020 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 5 Wickets Ambati Raydu-CSK- 71 (48)
2020 2020 IPL Sharjah MI 10 Wickets Trent Boult- MI- 4/18
2019 2019 IPL Mumbai MI 37 runs Hardik Pandya - MI - 25 (8)
2019 2019 IPL Chennai MI 46 runs Rohit Sharma- MI - 67(48)
2019 2019 IPL Chennai MI 6 Wickets Surya Kumar Yadav-MI- 71*(5)
2019 2019 IPL Hyderabad MI 1 Run Jasprit Bumrah-MI- 2/14
2018 2018 IPL Mumbai CSK 1 wicket DJ Bravo - CSK - 68 (30)
2018 2018 IPL Pune MI 8 wicket Rohit Sharma - MI - 53 (33)
2015 2015 IPL Mumbai CSK 6 wicket Ashish Nehra - CSK - 3/23
2015 2015 IPL Chennai MI 6 Wickets Hardik Pandya – MI – 21* (8)
2015 2015 IPL Mumbai MI 25 runs Kieron Pollard - MI - 41 (17)
2015 2015 IPL Kolkata MI 41 runs Rohit Sharma - MI - 40 (26)
2014 2014 IPL Dubai CSK 7 wickets Mohit Sharma – CSK – 4/14
2014 2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 4 wickets Dwayne Smith – CSK – 57 (51)
2014 2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 7 wickets Suresh Raina – CSK – 54* (33)
2013 2013 IPL Chennai MI 9 runs Kieron Pollard – MI – 57* (38) and 1/40
2013 2013 IPL Mumbai MI 60 runs Mitchell Johnson – MI – 3/27
2013 2013 IPL Delhi CSK 48 runs Michael Hussey – CSK – 86* (58)
2013 2013 IPL Kolkata MI 23 runs Kieron Pollard – MI – 60* (32) and 1/34
2012 2012 IPL Chennai MI 8 wickets Richard Levi – MI – 50 (35)
2012 2012 IPL Mumbai MI 2 wickets Dwayne Smith – MI – 24* (9)
2012 2012 IPL Bangalore CSK 38 runs Mahendra Singh Dhoni – CSK – 51* (20)
2012 2012 CLT20 Johannesburg CSK 6 runs Ben Hilfenhaus– CSK – 2/14
2011 2011 IPL Mumbai MI 8 runs Harbhajan Singh – MI – 5/18
2011 2011 CLT20 Chennai MI 3 wickets Lasith Malinga – MI – 1/29 and 37* (18)
2011 2011 IPL Mumbai MI 8 runs Harbhajan Singh – MI – 5/18
2011 2011 CLT20 Chennai MI 3 wickets Lasith Malinga – MI – 1/29 and 37* (18)
2010 2010 IPL Mumbai MI 5 wickets Sachin Tendulkar– MI – 72 (52)
2010 2010 IPL Chennai CSK 24 runs Suresh Raina – CSK – 73 (28) and 1/12
2010 2010 IPL Navi Mumbai CSK 22 runs Suresh Raina – CSK – 57* (35) and 1/21
2009 2009 IPL Cape Town MI 19 runs Sachin Tendulkar– MI – 59* (49)
2009 2009 IPL Port Elizabeth CSK 7 wickets Matthew Hayden – CSK – 60* (57)
2008 2008 IPL Chennai CSK 6 runs Matthew Hayden – CSK – 81 (46)
2008 2008 IPL Mumbai MI 9 wickets Sanath Jayasuriya– MI – 114* (48)

Retained Players in Each Team

Top retained batters and their performance in CSK vs MI head to head matches till 2021

Top retained bowlers and their performance in CSK vs MI head to head matches till 2021

Top Performers in Batting and Bowling

Suresh Raina scored the most runs among the matches between Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians, i.e., 736. This score is followed by Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni with 693 and 646 runs. DJ Bravo secured the first position in the bowling department with 35 wickets, followed by Ravindra Jadeja with 18 wickets.


Want to spend your evenings playing cricket with your friends and family? Or want to check CSK vs MI live score? Then, here is an excellent opportunity for you all!
Fantasy Cricket IPL by Dream11 app has brought up an exciting offer for you to flex your sports knowledge like never before. Also, check all the latest CSK vs MI highlights at Fantasy IPL by Dream11 with just one click. So get the app right now!
To know more on TATA IPL fantasy cricket playing11, match previews, predictions, etc., stay tuned on Dream11

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.