dream11 logo
20 Crore+
20 Cr+

Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings [What to watch out for in IPL 2024]

Introduction of the Chennai Super Kings

Competition in the Indian Premier League is such that often it is tough to separate two teams. However, there are a few exceptions, and the battle between Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings is one of them. Chennai is indeed ‘Super’ between the two kings. India Cements purchased the CSK franchise in 2008 when the Indian Premier League came into existence. The ownership later shifted to Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. in 2015.
Want to join the action for TATA IPL League? Play on Dream11 and make your IPL fantasy cricket team.
In 2010, CSK won the IPL match for the first-ever time. In these 16 years, the team brought the IPL trophy home five times in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. Their last win was in 2023 under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Currently, the team is led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a former international cricketer who captained India.

Here is the list of players in CSK:

MS Dhoni Ruturaj Gaikwad Devon Conway
Ajinkya Rahane Aravelly Avanish Shaik Rasheed
Moeen Ali Shivam Dube Rajvardhan Hangargekar
Ravindra Jadeja Ajay Mandal Daryl Mitchell
Rachin Ravindra Mitchell Santner Nishant Sindhu
Deepak Chahar Tushar Deshpande Mukesh Choudhary
Mustafizur Rahman Matheesha Pathirana Simarjeet Singh
Prashant Solanki Shardul Thakur Maheesh Theekshana
Sameer Rizvi

Introduction of Punjab Kings

Based out of Mohali, Punjab, the Punjab Kings is one of the most popular cricket teams. The team debuted in the Indian Premier League in 2008. The franchise of Punjab Kings was bought jointly by Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), Mohit Burman (46%), and Karan Paul (8%). In 2014, the team reached the semi-finals of IPL for the first time and stood as runner-up after losing the match against Kolkata Knight Riders.
The high-flying Punjab Kings boast several national and international players such as Shikhar Dhawan(Captain), Harshal Patel, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Rilee Rossouw, Arshdeep Singh, and others. Trevor Bayliss coaches the team.
Shikhar Dhawan [C] Prabhsimran Singh Jitesh Sharma
Sikandar Raza Rishi Dhawan Liam Livingstone
Atharva Taide Arshdeep Singh Nathan Ellis
Sam Curran Kagiso Rabada Harpreet Brar
Rahul Chahar Harpreet Bhatia Vidwath Kaverappa
Shivam Singh Harshal Patel Chris Woakes
Ashutosh Sharma Vishwanath Singh Shashank Singh
Tanay Thyagarajan Prince Choudhary Rilee Rossouw

CSK vs PBKS in IPL 2024

The gap between the teams comes from their geographical distance and their standing in the league. Punjab Kings and Chennai Super Kings are two of the strongest teams going head to head in the 2022 IPL. Both teams are stacked with international stars. Moreover, they feature the most polished cricketers and bowlers in the IPL.
When talking about Punjab kings, the team has a slightly unsatisfactory record, especially in the IPL series. Whereas Chennai Super Kings has a slight advantage over its competitors as they have won IPL five times. Over the years, both teams have evolved drastically in terms of their strategies, players, and tactics to win matches.
Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App!
We have two teams. On the one hand, the mighty CSK, who have played 16 IPL seasons and have won 5 of them, qualified for the finals 10 times, and qualified for the playoffs 12 times. But, on the other hand, we have the Punjab Kings, who have played 16 IPL seasons and never won a trophy, have qualified for the playoffs twice and made the finals just once.

Past IPL Performance of Punjab Kings VS Chennai Super Kings

Out of the 29 matches played between them so far, CSK has won 16, while Punjab has won 13. Out of the 13 wins for Punjab, 3 are from the 2014 IPL, where they qualified for the finals. So, if we discount the 2014 IPL season, CSK has a winning record of 60%, showing their dominance over Punjab.
This dominance can also be seen because while Punjab Kings had 15 captains since the IPL started, CSK just had 1. While Punjab will have Shikhar Dhawan as their 16th captain in the upcoming season, CSK will still be using the services of M.S. Dhoni, one of the IPL stalwarts.

Here is the CSK vs PBKS scorecard

Date Winner Won by Venue
30-Apr-2023 PBKS 4 wickets Chennai
7-Oct-20211 PBKS 11 Runs Mumbai
7-Oct-20211 PBKS 54 Runs Mumbai
7-Oct-20211 PBKS* 6 Wickets Dubai
16-Apr-2021 CSK 6 Wickets Mumbai
1-Nov-2020 CSK 9 Wickets Abu Dhabi
4-Oct-2020 CSK 10 Wickets Dubai
5-May-2019 PBKS* 6 Wickets Mohali
6-Apr-2019 CSK 22 runs Chennai
21-May-2018 CSK 5 wickets Pune
16-Apr-2018 PBKS* 4 runs Mohali
16-May-2015 CSK 7 wickets Mohali
25-April-2015 CSK 97 runs Chepauk
2-Oct-2014 CSK 65 runs Hyderabad
30-May-2014 PBKS* 24 runs Mumbai
7-May-2014 PBKS* 44 runs Cuttack
18-April-2014 PBKS* 6 wickets Abu Dhabi
2-May-2013 CSK 15 runs Chepauk
10-April-2013 CSK 10 wickets Mohali
17-May-2012 PBKS* 6 wickets Dharamshala
28-April-2012 PBKS* 7 runs Chepauk
13-Apr-2011 PBKS* 6 wickets Mohali
18-Apr-2010 CSK 6 wickets Dharamshala
21-March-2010 PBKS* - Chepauk
20-May-2009 CSK 24 runs Durban
7-May-2009 CSK 11 runs Centurion
31-May-2008 CSK 9 wickets Mumbai
10-May-2008 CSK 18 runs Chepauk
19-Apr-2008 CSK 33 runs Mohali

Retained Players in Each Team

Top retained batters and their performance in CSK vs PBKS head to head matches till 2021

  • Most Runs
    M.S Dhoni (CSK) - 585
    Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) - 179
    Shikhar Dhawan (PBKS) - 149
    Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK) - 146
    Liam Livingstone (PBKS) - 119

Top retained bowlers and their performance inCSK vs PBKS head to head matches till 2021

  • Most wickets
    Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) - 13 wickets
    Arshdeep Singh (PBKS) - 6 wickets

Top Performers in Batting and Bowling from CSK Vs PBKS

Among the matches played between Chennai Super Kings VS Punjab Kings, M.S Dhoni, the ‘Thala’ himself has scored the most runs, followed by Ravindra Jadeja. Jadeja’s score is followed by Shikhar Dhawan, the captain of Punjab Kings. Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) has also secured the first position in the bowling department.


In the last ipl IPL CSK Vs PBKS came face to face again. This year, fans are excited to witness the competition again between both teams. Fantasy Cricket IPL by Dream11 app has brought up an exciting offer for you to flex your sports knowledge like never before. Now, you can make your cricket team and compete with over 20 crore cricket fans, just like your favorite team player.
Download it now and indulge in a lifetime experience
To know more on TATA IPL fantasy cricket playing11, Fantasy player stats, live match scorecard, live commentary etc., stay tuned on Dream11

Download the official Dream11 Fantasy Cricket App

Join the world of exciting Fantasy Cricket games and tournaments – Download the Dream11 Fantasy App to play fantasy cricket or any other fantasy sports game on your Android or iOS device.